Written by: Celita Diaz-Perillo (Date written: 05/01/2022)

The Sound is a trio comprised of Rob Mills and his two sons, Levi and Jacob. This album God Is Real follows their debut Make It Count. The group is passionate about making music that connects people with the Source of Life, hope, peace & strength. God Is Real is full of affirmations that remind us how God is our ever-present Help in times of trouble, and that as we cling to Him, we find security, help, and all we need.

Some of my favorite songs unexpectedly called out some things in my own heart. I hope you get to listen and be blessed, too.

“Never Not God” is affirming our faith in an always-faithful-and-good God. ‘He’s never not faithful. He’s never not kind. He’s never not perfect. He’s never not on time. He’s never been defeated. He’ll never be stopped. He’s never not good. Cause He’s never not God.’ AMEN!

“God Is Real” is all about the surety we have in Jesus and His Word. ‘And His glory is revealed/ in the heart of everyone who just believes/ He still saves and changes lives/ and there’s no way to deny/ the difference that He made inside of me/ It’s more than just emotion that I feel/ God is real.’

“All Things” is based on the verse “I can do all things through Him who strengthens me.” Love it!

“Peace Is” just hit me square between the eyes. Life has sure been tumultuous over the last couple years, and the reminder of these lyrics was just what I needed to hear in this season of challenge. ‘Peace is knowing that You’re with me/ In the valley/ You will never leave/ Peace is having full assurance/ There’s no moment/ You will never see’

“Eternity” is one I absolutely need to play for car rides. Truth and fun blend together to just bless, encourage, and remind; it is one you need to hear!

These days we need all the encouragement we can get. I take it to heart when I read the scripture that speaks of encouraging myself daily, and God Is Real is a great album to remind us of how He is present in every season, every moment, every day, and that He meets us wherever and however we are. Let’s cry out to Him, praise His name, and draw near. When we are struggling we especially need to remember that He inhabits the praise of His people. And in His Presence there is healing, strength, hope, peace, joy, and so much more. He is not hindered by anything. Nothing is bigger, stronger, more wise than He is. Nothing can keep us from the power of His love. Let us step forth in faith!


Released: April 29, 2022

Label: New Day Records

Track Listing:

  1. Jeans & Jesus (3:23)
  2. I Didn’t Find Jesus (2:38)
  3. Never Not God (2:57)
  4. God Is Real (4:03)
  5. All Things (3:27)
  6. Peace Is (4:37)
  7. Standing With You (3:05)
  8. Prayers My Parents Prayed (3:22)
  9. Eternity (2:50)
  10. Something ‘Bout a River (3:42)

10 Tracks, 34:00

Buy on iTunes

More from Artist Name:

  • Make It Count (2019)

Visit The Sound’s Official Site Here