Written by: Kelly Meade (5/6/2016)

The Country Faith album series digs deep into the gospel roots of country music bringing together both legendary artists & today’s brightest stars performing songs of inspiration. The third installment of this series, Country Faith Hymns, features artists such as Hank Williams, Johnny Cash, Brad Paisley, Wade Hayes & Collin Raye singing some of the most beloved hymns of all time.

The album begins with a classic recording of “Uncloudy Day” sung by Willie Nelson, followed by the emotional Johnny Cash performance of “Were You There (When They Crucified My Lord)”. Next, Amy Grant is joined by Vince Gill on a beautiful rendition of “Rock Of Ages”.

Wade Hayes lends his voice to “Just As I Am” which is a new recording especially for this compilation.

Brad Paisley’s “Old Rugged Cross” first appeared on his album Part II in 2001 and was recorded as part of a live appearance on the historic stage of the Grand Ole Opry.

In his all too brief, but impactful career, Hank Williams left a country music legacy that has influenced countless artists over the years. His classic “I Saw The Light” is just one of several Hank songs that have been passed down to the next generation of country listeners.

One of the stand-out tracks on this album is Collin Raye’s “Come Thou Fount Of Every Blessing”. His heartfelt vocals and the simple yet stunning musical arrangement of piano and strings help bring the lyrics to life.

Closing this version of the album is “Blessed Assurance” performed by Randy Travis whose unmistakable sound provides a unique take on this well-known hymn.

An exclusive version of Country Faith Hymns can be found in Cracker Barrel Old Country Store locations across the country. The Cracker Barrel edition offers two more tracks, Trace Adkins singing ”Wayfaring Stranger” & B.J. Thomas with “Amazing Grace”.

While songs of faith are prevalent in country music, there is something extra special about hearing these hymns that have meant so much to so many over the years. The lyrics are honest and built on a solid foundation pointing all who hear in the direction of a Savior waiting to welcome them with open arms.

Released: May 6, 2016

Label: Country Faith

Track Listing:

  1. Uncloudy Day – Willie Nelson (4:40)
  2. Were You There (When They Crucified My Lord) – Johnny Cash (3:56)
  3. Rock Of Ages – Amy Grant (with Vince Gill) (3:40)
  4. Just As I Am – Wade Hayes (4:03)
  5. The Old Rugged Cross – Brad Paisley (3:50)
  6. Softly And Tenderly – George Jones (3:08)
  7. Farther Along – Dolly Parton, Linda Ronstadt and Emmylou Harris (4:10)
  8. I Saw The Light – Hank Williams (2:45)
  9. Precious Memories – Alan Jackson (4:22)
  10. Help Me – Gene Watson (3:58)
  11. Come Thou Fount Of Every Blessing – Collin Raye (with Andrea Thomas) (3:18)
  12. Blessed Assurance – Randy Travis (3:28)

12 Tracks, 45:46

Buy on CrackerBarrel.com

More from Country Faith:

  • Country Faith Hymns (2016)

Links for Country Faith:

Official Site