Written by: Kelly Meade (9/14/19)

Since their 2003 debut, Big Daddy Weave have become a household name in Christian music with hits like “Overwhelmed”, “Redeemed” and “Jesus I Believe” to name a few. Their ability to share the Gospel and personal testimonies through the music they record is an encouragement to all who hear. When The Light Comes offers 12 new tracks providing a positive listening experience.

“Alive” opens the album with the powerful reminder that despite all of our sin, mistakes and struggles, we can find mercy and redemption in our Heavenly Father. We could go on and on about all of the bad decisions, ways we feel we’ve messed up, list excuses with “but this happened” & “but that happened”, etc… BUT GOD has the ultimate control and saving power to call us back to Him and make us truly alive.

“This Is What We Live For” describes the passionate desire to tell everyone about our Savior and awesome works He has done as we spread the Gospel. We were created to reflect His love and redirect the attention back to God as we live our daily lives.

“Turn On The Light” tells of letting the Light of Jesus into your heart to illuminate every corner of your life, chasing out the darkness as He fills you with His everlasting love. This song brought to mind the words of Ephesians 5:13-14 “But everything exposed by the light becomes visible – and everything that is illuminated becomes a light. This is why it is said ‘Wake up, sleeper, rise from the dead, and Christ will shine on you.'”

“I Know” acknowledges that God doesn’t automatically stop every painful thing from occurring in our lives. But when uncertain and scary circumstances arise, we can find solace in knowing that we are never truly alone and in all things He is working out a bigger picture that we can’t see. We can remember that God is good through the best & worst of times, He will never abandon His children.

“The Name of Jesus” gives honor and praise to the majestic Name of our Savior, Jesus. When we recognize the authority Jesus has over every force of evil, even death itself, there is no denying to Whom we owe our worship to and where our Source of hope is found.

“Pursuit” finds someone who is living in full surrender to Christ with the desire to relentlessly seek to strengthen the relationship with Him above everything else and follow where He leads.

“Your Love Changes Everything” praises God for the freedom from sin and life altering grace He abundantly gives when we accept Him into our hearts and vow to willingly serve Him in return.

“Walking In The Light of Your Love” stands out musically from other songs on the album featuring an 80’s style vibe. The joyful, uplifting beat brings a smile to your face while the lyrics celebrate being free to live life to the full under the boundless, merciful love of our Savior.

My personal favorite track on the album, “All Things New” is a heartfelt prayer of someone who is in the midst of sorrow crying out for God to do what only He is able to do and work through the pain to create something new out of the dust of the brokenness. The bridge of the song builds realizing that there is hope & light when you place your trust in God and His faithfulness to carry you through.

Throughout When The Light Comes, the overall themes of love, hope and joy are prevalent as the songs direct listeners’ focus to the Light and Source of our faith as Christians and what it truly means to live in step with God. Big Daddy Weave does not disappoint blending upbeat anthems and reflective moments with solid vocal performances as they share the message of our Lord & Savior.


Released: September 13, 2019

Label: Word Label Group

Track Listing:

  1. Alive (3:26)
  2. This Is What We Live For (3:56)
  3. Turn On The Light (3:54)
  4. I Know (5:20)
  5. What I’ve Got (3:36)
  6. The Name of Jesus (4:58)
  7. I Want To Tell The World (4:22)
  8. Pursuit (4:21)
  9. Your Love Changes Everything (4:28)
  10. Walking In The Light of Your Love (4:26)
  11. All Things New (4:52)
  12. Fly (4:14)

12 Tracks, 51:53

Buy on iTunes

More from Big Daddy Weave:

  • One and Only (2002)
  • Fields of Grace (2003)
  • What I Was Made For (2005)
  • Every Time I Breathe (2006)
  • What Life Would Be Like (2008)
  • Love Come To Life (2012)
  • Beautiful Offerings (2015)
  • When The Light Comes (2019)

Visit Big Daddy Weave’s Official Site Here