Written by: Kelly Meade (8/24/2016)

Gospel pioneer Bill Gaither is responsible for some of the most loved songs in the genre for nearly fifty years. He is also the founder of the Gaither Vocal Band which while the line-up of members have changed over the decades, the signature gospel sound remains. Their latest release, Better Together, brings listeners a collection of classic songs as well as some new favorites.

The album opens with the old-time gospel spiritual “Working On A Building”, followed by “Led Out Of Bondage” which tells of how God was faithful to the Israelites on their journey to the Promised Land and set the free from Pharaoh’s reign.

“Heart O’ Mine” celebrates the change that takes place when Jesus comes into someone’s heart and gives them His unconditional love.

“Dig A Little Deeper In God’s Love” declares the desire to live a faith filled life under the guidance of God’s love.

“We’ll Talk It Over” reminds us of the fact that things will happen that we don’t understand and may not see the reason for until we can actually talk to God in heaven. While we go through life on Earth, we must remember that nothing is without purpose and even in our darkest moments, we need to find the glimmer of hope.

Also included is a Gaither Vocal Band take on the classic pop song, “You’ve Got A Friend”. While finding someone to call a best friend here on Earth is a special gift, we also have a forever friend in Jesus.

Title track “Better Together” is about the importance of coming together as one unified body of Christ to help each other regardless of where you’re from. Sharing God’s love knows no race, political difference or level of wealth.

The unmistakable harmony of the Gaither Vocal Band is on display throughout the album with each member having a moment to shine. Their passion for their faith is evident on each song as the sing from the heart and share the love of our Lord.


Released: August, 26, 2016

Label: Gaither Music Group

Track Listing:

  1. Working On A Building (3:19)
  2. Led Out Of Bondage (2:41)
  3. Heart O’ Mine (3:49)
  4. When He Set Me Free (3:14)
  5. But I Need You More (3:43)
  6. Dig A Little Deeper In God’s Love (3:45)
  7. Moses Smote The Water (3:13)
  8. We’ll Talk It Over (4:28)
  9. Didn’t It Rain (3:29)
  10. You’ve Got A Friend (4:18)
  11. Better Together (4:12)
  12. Walk On Water (3:13)

12 Tracks, 44:00

Buy on iTunes

More from Gaither Vocal Band:

  • The New Gaither Vocal Band (1981)
  • Passin’ The Faith Along (1983)
  • New Point of View (1984)
  • One X 1 (1986)
  • Wings (1988)
  • A Few Good Men (1990)
  • Homecoming (1991)
  • Peace of the Rock (1993)
  • Southern Classics (1993)
  • Testify (1994)
  • Southern Classics: Volume II (1995)
  • Back Home in Indiana [LIVE] (1997)
  • Lovin’ God & Lovin’ Each Other (1997)
  • Still the Greatest Story Ever Told (1998)
  • God is Good (1999)
  • I Do Believe (2000)
  • Everything Good (2002)
  • A Cappella (2003)
  • Give It Away (2006)
  • Together [with Ernie Haase & Signature Sound] (2007)
  • Lovin’ Life (2008)
  • Christmas Gaither Vocal Band Style (2008)
  • Gaither Vocal Band Reunion (vol. 1 & 2) (2009)
  • Reunited (2009)
  • Better Day [LIVE] (2010)
  • Greatly Blessed (2010)
  • I Am a Promise (2011)
  • Pure and Simple (2012)
  • Hymns (2014)
  • The New Edition (2014)
  • Sometimes It Takes a Mountain (2014)
  • Happy Rhythm (2015)
  • Christmas Collection (2015)

Links for Gaither Vocal Band:

Official Site