Written by: Kelly Meade (10/20/2016)

Jonathan Cain has had a storied career serving as keyboardist and rhythm guitarist for legendary band Journey. During his time with the band, Jonathan co-wrote several classic hits including “Don’t Stop Believin’”. With the release of What God Wants To Hear, Jonathan’s faith takes the spotlight as he shares this collection of praise and worship.

“Because Of The Blood” opens the album with an expression of gratitude for the redeeming sacrifice of Jesus giving His life on the cross so we can find freedom from our sins by believing in Him.

“Fall Into You” is a declaration of dedication to God by someone who has chosen to fully give their life over to Him, wanting to serve God with everything they do.

“Have Your Way With Us” calls upon God to work within our lives as we turn to Him in complete surrender, ready to allow His grace to wash over us.

“Rush Into Me” finds someone that has lived a life without God in it and is now longing to be filled with the Holy Spirit and feel God move in a mighty way.

“This House” tells of being united as one body in prayer & worship to Christ, welcoming in all who are seeking God no matter where they are in their walk of faith.

Title track, “What God Wants To Hear”, shares a desire to live a life fully committed to God allowing Him and His will to be apparent in every word we say & prayer we pray.

“Why I Breathe” states that God is our source of life. He knew us before we were born and promises to guide us as we strive to follow Him.

After listening to What God Wants To Hear, I’ve determined that while at times a few of the songs feel like they’re trying too hard to make their point, there’s no denying their intention to bring glory & honor to God.


Released: 10/21/16

Label: Identity Records

Track Listing:

  1. Because Of The Blood (4:18)
  2. Bold In Prayer (4:59)
  3. Can’t Take My Eyes Off Of You (3:51)
  4. Deeper Than Deep (4:43)
  5. Fall Into You (4:32)
  6. Have You Way With Us (5:52)
  7. In Your Waters (4:37)
  8. Rush Into Me (3:45)
  9. Sanctify (4:06)
  10. Sanctify Segue (2:03)
  11. This House (3:47)
  12. What God Wants To Hear (5:06)
  13. Why I Breathe (4:30)

13 Tracks, 56:00

Buy on iTunes

More from Jonathan Cain:

  • Piano With A View (1995)
  • Body Language (1997)
  • For A Lifetime (1998)
  • Bare Bones (2004)

Links for Jonathan Cain:

Official Site