Satellites & Sirens ‘Tanks’

///Satellites & Sirens ‘Tanks’

Written by: Abby Baracskai (10/22/2016)

From a simple Craigslist advertisement, to record deals, to being nominated for multiple Dove Awards, Satellites and Sirens has been around the block a time or two. With their newest release of TANKS, you’re able to feel like you’re listening to the same great older songs that you love of theirs, with their soft pop electronic vibes with uplifting lyrics, but taken to another level that you didn’t know existed.  If you’re a fan of any one of Satellites and Sirens’ songs, you will appreciate this album, as it shows their growth spiritually and musically.

The album kicks off with “Hey! (This is the Life)” and immediately makes you want to join arms with your friends and step side to side and sway to the tune. I mean, the song title has an exclamation point in it, it has to be exciting to listen to, right? The song features a nice hint of electronic notes that pair nicely, along with some groovy guitar melodies to tie it altogether. The message is simple and basically cliché: live your life to the fullest and enjoy every moment that the Lord blesses you with. With the recent passing of my mom, the message of celebrating life in Jesus is really impactful and a little therapeutic knowing that she’s up there celebrating more than any of us can do down here.

The single “TANKS” quickly climbed in popularity, and it’s easy to see why. The song features a futuristic sounding electronic melody. The line that stood out to me was “we will crush everything with love.” The metaphoric image of being soldiers for Christ, being involved in a war with the world, and being equipped with love as our weapon is pure genius. I think it is so important to remember that everyday is a battle and we can choose to show the love of Christ by acting in kindness towards others and truly being the hands and feet of Jesus’ ministry.

TANKS perfectly flows right from the other albums; it’s a continuation of classic Satellites and Sirens sound and message, only better than ever before. If there were a few words I had to use to describe this album, it would be life and love. Every song is packed full of the truth about the love Christ has for us, or the love we should show the world as Christians, or inspiration to get out into the world and make a difference with your gifts and doing the things you love, or the simple love of life that we’ve been blessed with. It’s a positive focused album that highlights the wonderful parts about being a Christian.


Released: October 14, 2016

Label: Dream Records

Track Listing:

  1. Hey! (This Is The Life) (3:42)
  2. Who We Are (3:07)
  3. Chasing Photos (4:49)
  4. Old Souls (Feat. Ronnie Petkovich) (3:53)
  5. TANKS (3:29)
  6. Stereo (3:46)
  7. Enough (Feat. Joel Vaughn) (4:48)
  8. Living The Dream (2:40)
  9. Control (4:05)
  10. Don’t Say A Thing (4:19)
  11. Wildfires (3:01)
  12. Waste Some Time (4:17)

12 Tracks, 45:51

Buy on iTunes

More from Satellites & Sirens:

  • Satellites & Sirens (2010)
  • Frequency (2011)
  • The Covers (2012)
  • One Noise (2014)
  • TANKS (2016)

Links for Satellites & Sirens:

Official Site




By |2018-07-03T11:50:03-04:00October 22nd, 2016|Music, Reviews|0 Comments

About the Author:

Leave A Comment