Written by: Kelly Meade (7/23/2020)

The music of Rebecca St. James provided a soundtrack to life for many young adults in the late 90’s to the early 2000’s. After a hiatus from the business to focus on her growing family and other ministry opportunities, Rebecca is back with Dawn – a brand new EP that is well worth the wait!

“Middle of the Fire” featuring Josh Baldwin declares a bold trust in the Lord; believing that even when we are facing our most difficult trials, God will never leave us alone and He remains faithful to those He loves as He works through every situation.

“Ready For The Rain” offers hope in the promise that God desires to bless His children. It brings to mind the words of Ezekiel 34:26 which says, “I will make them and the places surrounding my hill a blessing. I will send down showers in season; there will be showers of blessing.” When our skies seem to darken with clouds, we can remember to praise our Father through the storm and receive His blessings in the rain.

For the title track, “Dawn”, Rebecca is joined by younger brother, For King and Country’s Luke Smallbone. This song finds someone who has become weighed down with the heaviness of life to the point that they feel they can’t go on. But, healing and grace comes through being mindful of God’s loving faithfulness and knowing He will break through the night with the promise of a new day.

The project’s lead single, “Battle Is the Lord’s” featuring Brandon Lake, reminds that no matter what is brought against us, God already has the victory. Through His power, we have confidence and peace that we will overcome the enemy’s attacks. “Alleluia Jesus” is a song of worshipful surrender as we set aside our plans and move in the direction of His desire & story for our lives.

Dawn offers a collection of songs that are sure to resonate with listeners. Each track encourages a deeper connection to our Heavenly Father as we meditate on His words and promises through both the challenges & victories of life. The message of hope, assurance in the Lord and finding peace & rest in His love is prominent start to finish. All of that as well as Rebecca’s soothing vocals combined with the beautifully arranged music make this EP a must add to your playlists and a perfect companion to spending quiet time with our Savior.


Released: July 24 2020

Label: Heritage Music

Track Listing:

  1. Prelude (0:27)
  2. Middle Of The Fire (3:47)
  3. Ready For The Rain (4:35)
  4. Fall Back (4:13)
  5. Dawn (4:58)
  6. The Battle Is The Lord’s (3:55)
  7. Alleluia Jesus (4:46)

7 Tracks, 26:41

Buy on iTunes

More from Rebecca St. James:

  • Refresh My Heart (1991)
  • Rebecca St. James (1994)
  • God (1996)
  • Christmas (1997)
  • Pray (1998)
  • Transform (2000)
  • Worship God (2002)
  • If I Had One Chance To Tell You Something (2005)
  • I Will Praise You (2011)
  • Dawn EP (2020)

Visit Rebecca St. James’ Official Site Here