Written by: Kelly Meade (10/8/2017)

Many may be familiar with the famed devotional, My Utmost for His Highest, written by Oswald Chambers. Now, an album by the same name brings together several of today’s biggest & brightest in Christian music as they perform a collection of beloved hymns, as well as new originals.

The brothers of for King & Country are joined by their sister, Rebecca St. James on the album’s opening track with a beautiful rendition of “Amazing Grace”.

We Are Messengers recorded “My Victory” for this project. Although it is more well-known as a single by Crowder, the song was written by We Are Messengers’ Darren Mulligan. The song praises the redeeming sacrifice of Jesus and His victory over the grave that gives us freedom from sin when we believe.

“Lavish”, performed by Big Daddy Weave and Francesca Battistelli, tells of the unconditional, never ending love that God pours into our lives even when we don’t deserve it.

Zealand Worship and Mike Doheny come together on “Yours”, a song that reminds us that we belong to God as He chose us to be His children and already knew who we would be before we were born.

“Abide In Me”, sung by Chris August, is a prayer for Jesus to dwell in our hearts, spirit and mind as we live life and face the struggles it brings. With our trust and faith firmly planted in Him, He will keep His promise to see us through it all.

Selah’s “Unfailing Father” encourages us to come to God just as we are and look to Him like a child would their father. Although not all of us may know what it’s like to experience the love of a father on Earth, our Heavenly Father is always waiting to welcome us with open arms.

Closing track, “I Come Alive”, performed by Out of the Dust featuring The Gray Havens, expands upon the passage found in Romans 6:5-11 which states that when we choose to believe in Christ, we die to our sins. When we turn from those sins and selfish desires, we can know a life that is more abundant than we could have imagined for ourselves.

From start to finish, My Utmost for His Highest celebrates the love, grace and mercy of God as the songs speak to the hearts of listeners and point them towards Him.


Released: September 29, 2017

Label: Word Entertainment

Track Listing:

  1. Amazing Grace (feat. Rebecca St. James) – for KING & COUNTRY (3:21)
  2. Needing You Now – Meredith Andrews (4:36)
  3. My Victory – We Are Messengers (4:00)
  4. Power to Redeem (Acoustic Version) – Lauren Daigle (3:54)
  5. Lavish – Big Daddy Weave & Francesca Battistelli (4:43)
  6. There’s a Hope (feat. Chris McClarney) – Hollyn (4:32)
  7. Yours (feat. Mike Donehey) – Zealand Worship (3:43)
  8. This I Know (feat. Chris Quilala) – Sarah Reeves (4:09)
  9. I Surrender – Brandon Hampton & United Pursuit (5:01)
  10. Abide in Me – Chris August (4:45)
  11. Unfailing Father – Selah (4:19)
  12. Light That Never Fades (feat. Blanca) – Unspoken (3:45)
  13. I Come Alive (feat. The Gray Havens) – Out of the Dust (2:56)

13 Tracks, 53:00

Buy on iTunes