Written by: Mercedes Rich (8/5/2021)

Capitol Christian Music Group’s newest singer-songwriter, Anne Wilson, dropped her hit song, “My Jesus” earlier this year. This debut single launch is Capitol CMG’s biggest new artist launch in nearly 10 years. In the song’s debut add week, “My Jesus” received 49 adds and is currently sitting at No. 6 on radio charts. Along with this incredible three song single, Wilson releases a Live EP, My Jesus (Live In Nashville), on August 6th featuring the three previously released songs recorded as live versions along with a new song “No Place Like Home,” and a cover of Little Big Town’s “Boondocks.”

Devil, the first track on the Live EP, has a very folksy feel with lyrics and music fills out the track. There is a very eclectic instrumentation throughout that Wilson’s vocals  fit to a tee. This track breaks boundaries of genres within Christian music.

My Jesus, the title track, is just as beautiful as the original song. This live version does have more of an acoustic sound. There is a more open and raw vulnerability with  this live recording.

Something About That Name, starts off with an instrumental opening and leads into Wilson’s vocals which are very unique sounding, with a nod to the style of Lauren Daigle. That is where the comparisons end however, because Wilson has her own sound that is incomparable to anyone else’s.

Boondocks, the Little Big Town cover, is very rich and full of power. While the original is a big song to cover and full of fun intricacies, Wilson adds her own flare to the song that makes it fun to listen to from both artists. The country tones that peek out through this cover are fun and exciting to hear.

No Place Like Home, the new single released on this live EP is the last track. The opening guitar riff is absolutely stunning. While the rest of the EP has a strong country vibe, this single has a power filled singer-songwriter style that Wilson pulls off effortlessly.

This whole EP goes to show that Christian music can expand through many genres and still worship God. This whole extended play lets Anne Wilson’s personality shine through in her music. Available August 6th to purchase, download, and stream.


Released: August 6, 2021

Label: Sparrow Records

Track Listing:

  1. Devil (3:21)
  2. My Jesus (3:35)
  3. Something About That Name (3:29)
  4. Boondocks (3:19)
  5. No Place Like Home (4:31)

5 Tracks, 18:15

Buy on iTunes

More from Anne Wilson:

  • My Jesus EP (2021)
  • My Jesus (Live From Nashville) EP (2021)

Visit Anne Wilson’s Official Site Here