Written by: Jon Fisher (8/4/2021)

The Uniontown, PA band, The Letter Black, had taken a bit of a hiatus after their last album, “Pain” to spend more time with their families.  But after teasing their fans on social media last year about a possible retirement, they have returned with their 4th studio album, which is self-titled, to be released August 6th, 2021.  The first single, “Rise”, was released on February 26th, with “Born for This” featuring Trevor McNevan from Thousand Foot Krutch, being released on June 25th.

The band, which is currently comprised of lead vocalist Sarah Anthony; her husband, lead guitarist and vocalist Mark Anthony; bassist Matt Beal and drummer William Fowler, is one of the harder rock acts in Christian music right now.  While a number of Christian rock acts have softened their sound in the past few years, it’s nice to hear that TLB is still able to deliver a sonic gut punch.

Although it has a rougher edge, “TLB” is an album of hope, not giving up and changing for the better.  Examples of the overriding message are contained in “Rise”:

“We’re gonna rise, we’re gonna fly

We’re gonna rise from the past we left behind”

That message continues in songs like “Unbreakable”:

“I’m not who I used to be

I’m not so easily deceived

So go ahead and take your shot

Give me everything you’ve got

Cause I’m not who I used to be”

The overall sound is very reminiscent of early Fireflight, and the release actually seems to get stronger towards the end.  Songs that close out the album, “Lost Remembered”, “Throwing Darts” and “Born For This” are extremely listenable.  They even switch things up a bit with song “Drowning” which features rapper Blake Whiteley.  It’s a great mash-up of rap and hard rock.

It’s definitely good to welcome The Letter Black back with an extremely earnest effort.  With a 10-song / 34-minute entry, it doesn’t overstay it’s welcome and is the sort of album that leaves you wanting more.


Released: August 6, 2021

Label: Rockfest Records

Track Listing:

  1. Rise (3:15)
  2. One More Time (3:01)
  3. Kiss Of Death (3:19)
  4. Drowning (3:32)
  5. Tomorrow’s (3:32)
  6. Let You Go (4:04)
  7. Unbreakable (3:37)
  8. Lost Remembered (3:01)
  9. Throwing Darts (3:15)
  10. Born For This (3:45)

10 Tracks, 34:21

Buy on iTunes

More from The Letter Black:

  • Stand (2007)*
  • Breaking the Silence EP (2009)*
  • Hanging On A Thread (2010)
  • Hanging On By A Thread Sessions Vol. 1 (2011)
  • Hanging On By A Thread Sessions Vol. 2 (2011)
  • Rebuild (2013)
  • Pain (2017)
  • The Letter Black (2021)

*As Breaking The Silence

Visit The Letter Black’s Official Site Here