Written by: Kelly Meade (2/4/2016)

Singer, songwriter & author Audrey Assad brings a unique touch to every song she sings. Her melodious voice accompanied by a vast array of instruments makes for a musical journey that is a sweet sound to the audience’s ears. With the release of Inheritance, Audrey presents a collection of both cherished hymns and original songs set to an arrangement that plays as a cinematic soundtrack filled with an honest and pure emotion.

The Latin chorale “Ubi Caritas” opens the album and sets the tone for the listening experience to follow.

Next we hear beautiful renditions of “Holy, Holy, Holy” and “Be Thou My Vision” that act as a call to worship; giving praise, honor and glory to our Lord & Savior.

The haunting melody of “I Wonder As I Wander” captivates listeners with thought provoking imagery as the singer reflects on the reason Jesus came to Earth – that through His grace and sacrifice we would be saved.

“How Can I Keep From Singing” paints a picture of the peace that transcends earthly boundaries which can only be found in a relationship with Christ.

“New Every Morning” praises the power of God while celebrating the promise found in Lamentations 3:22-23 – “Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.”

An original song included on this album, “Even Unto Death”, is a declaration of faith vowing to love and live for God, even in the face of persecution at the risk of death.

The closing track, “Abide With Me”, calls upon God to remain close through the perils and despair that this world brings realizing He is our One true source of both strength & peace.

Throughout Inheritance, we hear creative approaches to songs whose lyrics many are familiar with. From the quiet reflectiveness of notes played on a piano to the soaring sounds of string & percussion, the stunning musical display allows the words to shine without overshadowing the glorious message within.

Released: February 12, 2016

Label: Fortunate Fall Records

Track Listing:

  1. Ubi Caritas (2:56)
  2. Holy, Holy, Holy (3:09)
  3. Be Thou My Vision (3:34)
  4. I Wonder As I Wander (3:47)
  5. How Can I Keep From Singing (4:22)
  6. Oh, The Deep, Deep Love of Jesus (2:37)
  7. Jesus’ Blood Never Failed Me Yet (2:14)
  8. New Every Morning (5:22)
  9. It Is Well With My Soul (4:11)
  10. Even Unto Death (4:39)
  11. Abide With Me (4:40)

11 Tracks, 41:31

Buy on iTunes

More from Audrey Assad:

  • Firefly EP (2008) (I)
  • For Love Of You EP (2010)
  • The House You’re Building (2010)
  • iTunes Live from SoHo (2011)
  • Heart (2012)
  • Fortunate Fall (2013)
  • Inheritance (2016)

Links for Audrey Assad:

Official Site