Francesca Battistelli ‘Own It’

///Francesca Battistelli ‘Own It’

Francesca Battistelli ‘Own It’

Written by: Kelly Meade (10/24/18)

Songstress Francesca Battistelli has become known for faith-filled songs that talk of real-life struggles and daily obstacles we all can relate to. This honest and unfiltered approach carries through with her latest release, Own It.

Lead single “The Breakup Song” opens the album with a throwback feel as the words form a breakup letter to fear declaring a confidence in your identity in Christ. When the lies fear tell attempt to drag us down and break our spirit, we can stand up and boldly state the promises of God and all He created us to be as we fight back against the attacks.

“Love Somebody” reminds listeners that a little act of kindness can go a long way. We all hurt, we all feel alone sometimes and need someone to let us know they care. When we reflect the love that Jesus has given us and genuinely share it through our words and actions with those we meet, it can mean everything to that person.

“Royalty” tells of our place in God’s kingdom that we gain when we accept Jesus into our hearts. We are redeemed, forgiven and made new; welcomed into an eternal heavenly family, adopted as children of God.

“This Could Change Everything” encourages that one step of faith could alter the course of our lives as we embark into the beautiful unknown that God has in store for us. When we fully embrace His plan and truly seek what He desires, those desires become what our hearts long for and give us something worth striving towards.

“You Belong” stands out as an empowering anthem that solidifies our place in Creation and that each of our unique gifts and passions were given to us for a reason. We are not mistakes! Our lives are a part of the story that God is forever unfolding before us. Highly suggest listening to this song on repeat a few times and letting the words fully soak in along with the soaring melody that is worth getting lost in.

“Let The Light In” touches on the subject of the negative effect that social media can have on our minds. As we scroll through the pictures that fill our feeds, most of what we see is the illusion of perfection that so many want to put out there. If all we’re seeing is the “highlight” reel of someone’s life, it can be hard to remember that every single one of us is broken in some way and we all deal with pain, rejection and insecurities. Lyrics pose the question “If we had the chance to be real would we take it?” In our culture saturated with celebrity status and social acceptance based on views & likes and in many cases the feeling of a superficial “connection” to someone, it is so important to remain true to yourself, invest in the relationships that actually matter and let the light of God fill your heart & mind allowing Him to guide you to what’s real.

Closing track, “Freedom”, is a celebration of praise for the freedom found in a relationship with God as we fully surrender and trust with abandon knowing that our Savior loves us unconditionally.

Appropriately titled, Own It, the message throughout is one of fully coming into your identity in Christ and as a beloved, worthy child of God. With strong vocal performances and music reminiscent of 80’s/early 90’s pop, this album is a must listen! Entertaining, uplifting and inspiring!

Rating: 4.7/5

Released: October 26, 2018

Label: Curb | Word Entertainment

Track Listing:

  1. The Breakup Song (3:24)
  2. The Very Best (2:51)
  3. Love Somebody (3:34)
  4. Royalty (3:22)
  5. This Could Change Everything (3:57)
  6. You Belong (3:12)
  7. As Good as It Gets (3:54)
  8. Let the Light In (4:06)
  9. Defender (feat. Steffany Gretzinger) (7:04)
  10. Freedom (2:51)

10 Tracks, 38:00

Buy on iTunes

More from Francesca Battistelli:

  • My Paper Heart (2008)
  • Hundred More Years (2011)
  • Christmas (2012)
  • Hundred More Year [Deluxe Edition] (2013)
  • If We’re Honest (2014)
  • If We’re Honest [Deluxe Edition] (2014)

Visit Francesca Battistelli’s Official Site Here

By |2018-12-19T15:17:14-04:00October 26th, 2018|Music, Reviews|0 Comments

About the Author:

Leave A Comment