JJ Heller ‘Sound Of A Living Heart’

///JJ Heller ‘Sound Of A Living Heart’

Written by: Lauren McLean (8/8/15)

As I’m listening to this sweet voice’s newest album Sound of A Living Heart, I was highly impressed. JJ Heller has one of my sweet, unique voices you don’t hear too often in the music industry. Heller’s latest release is indeed one of the best Christian albums of 2015. As she sings about Jesus and His endless love for us, she twists it up and throws in real life situations in her songs. This album is something we can all relate to.

The song that kicks off the album, “Let Down Your Guard” is truly my favorite off the album. With its upbeat and happy intro, its a fun song to dance along with in the car or while cleaning up the house. I can picture God singing this song to you. reminding you that He will keep loving you and fighting for you no matter what we’ve been through. “You don’t have to hide, you can be alive” is one line that stands out in the song. Why hide when you can feel alive? We know life can be scary and unpredictable sometimes, but if we step out of our comfort zone a little; if we take that small leap of faith, we will feel alive.

Every girl dreams of her perfect husband, right? Dreaming of the day that we find our prince charming, doing life with the one who loves you and cares for you. It seems like all a fairy tail to a lot of people. God is the one who writes the perfect fairy tail for all of us. He already knows our perfect husband or wife. He knows how our life is written out, year by year, month by month, day by day. The song “Meant To Be” is talking about this. Living life with the one she loves. Its a cute love song sung between a wife and husband or boyfriend and girlfriend.

I’m always nervous about listening to albums of artists or bands that I’m not familiar with, but with JJ Heller’s Sound of A Living Heart was a pleasant surprise! Reminding me of other female artists like Plumb with her real life experiences in her music, and Kari Jobe with her story telling in her music and her sweet, anointing voice. Sound of A Living Heart is a stand out for summer/fall 2015. It’s a album that will bring you joy and peace and remind us of Gods love and grace for us.

Released: August 21, 2015 Label: Stone Table/Sparrow Records

Track Listing:

  1. Let Down Your Guard (2:47)
  2. The Well (2:56)
  3. Fully Known (3:17)
  4. Meant To Be (2:56)
  5. Father-Daughter Dance (feat. Matt Hammitt) (3:53)
  6. This Year (Happy New Year) (3:10)
  7. Holy Ground (2:56)
  8. Daylight (3:27)
  9. Scarlet Thread (2:49)
  10. Silence (3:42)
  11. Sound of a Living Heart (3:44)

11 Tracks, 35:37 Buy on iTunes Buy on Amazon Music

More from JJ Heller:

  • Songs That I Know (2004)
  • Collection of Thoughts EP (2005)
  • Only Love Remains (2006)
  • Wake Up The World (2007)
  • Pretty & The Plain (2007)
  • Painted Red (2008)
  • When I’m With You (2010)
  • Deeper (2011)
  • Loved (2013)
  • I Dream Of You (2014)
  • Sound Of Living Heart (2015)

Links for JJ Heller:

Official Site




By |2017-03-09T11:10:21-05:00August 21st, 2015|Music, Reviews|0 Comments

About the Author:

Leave A Comment