Written by: Kelly Meade (5/24/18)

Following the release of her first full-length solo album last year, Jesus Culture’s Kim Walker-Smith returns with the EP, On My Side (Live).

“Glimpse” opens the collection with a song that calls on the Spirit of God to be revealed and to draw us closer to Him as He fills us with His love.

“You Define Me” tells of finding your true identity in Christ and allowing His Word to shape your views as you live your life, finding freedom in His promises and faithfulness.

“I Know” is a declaration of trust in God’s power and omnipotence as we stand firm on a solid foundation of faith. The bridge borrows from the familiar hymn “My Hope is Built on Nothing Less” which fittingly flows with the message of the song.

“Brave Surrender” acknowledges that by giving up control of our lives and circumstances to the Lord, we will find peace and what we let go of will pale in comparison to what He has for us. The lyrics also recognize that this takes courage on our part and it isn’t always an easy thing to do as it is often much more comfortable in our minds to try to do everything on our own.

Title track, “On My Side”, looks to God as our protector, guide and companion as we face the battles life brings reminding us of the words found in Deuteronomy 31:8 which state: “The Lord himself goes before you and will be with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged.”

“Throne Room” is a soaring anthem declaring God as the source of our hope and faith as we turn to Him in prayer, praising the mighty power of His holy Name.

With a primary focus on God’s constant presence in our lives and setting our hearts on Him through praise, On My Side (Live) delivers outstanding vocals & strong musical performances without overshadowing the purpose behind the lyrics of the songs.


Released: April 6, 2018

Label: Sparrow Records; Jesus Culture Music, under exclusive license to Capitol Christian Music Group, Inc.

Track Listing:

  1. Glimpse (3:43)
  2. You Define Me (4:15)
  3. I Know (9:33)
  4. Undone (3:42)
  5. Brave Surrender (4:47)
  6. Just One Touch (5:45)
  7. On My Side (4:15)
  8. Throne Room (5:01)

8 Tracks, 41:00

Buy on iTunes

More from Kim Walker-Smith:

Visit Kim Walker-Smith’s Official Site Here