Written by: Mercedes Rich (5/4/2020)

River Valley Worship is a culmination of artists, musicians, and songwriters all from River Valley Church, based in Minnesota. Known for songs such as “Hope Has A Name” and “Both Sides”, their newest album, “Altars”, offers live and energetic recordings straight from a worship service.

“Altars” starts off on an upbeat note with the opening track “Future”. Differing from typical worship music currently out in the world today, “Future” offers listeners an original and unique twist on the promise of the verse Jeremiah 29:11, where the Lord declares His plans for us.

“All of Me” is my favorite off the album and is reminiscent of a slower-paced song by Christian rockers, Skillet. With its breathy tones and upbeat backtrack, this song is a great reminder to give the Lord our all and He will direct our paths. (Proverbs 3:4-5) “Real Thing” slows things down a bit to get the full worship experience. The message of this song is wanting the real thing, the Lord of everything.

“A Wild Chorus” is a very beautiful and melodic song discussing the beauty of the Lord and all He has done for us.

“Fade” is a nice in-between pace from the rest of the album. The range of the vocalist shows and is beautiful. “Fade” is a powerful mix of older hymn lyrics and modern vernacular.   “Love That Lasts” combines traditional hymn music with newer pop music to create a song that has the capability to touch generations.

In the hour plus run time of “Altars”, this album is a live record that offers listeners a unique worship experience with entertainment and inspiration one will not soon forget. The record shows many different styles of music while intertwining rich vocals with beautiful melodies and is sure to bring inspiration and encouragement to an array of audiences. If you are looking for a new and different way to worship, “Altars” will be a cherished album for you and your family.


Released: May 8, 2020

Label: BEC Recordings

Track Listing:

  1. Future (3:46)
  2. All Of Me (3:15)
  3. Real Thing (5:00)
  4. A Wild Chorus (5:28)
  5. Fade (4:49)
  6. Let It Be Jesus (4:25)
  7. Hallways (4:30)
  8. Fresh Chance (5:26)
  9. Love That Lasts (3:22)
  10. Shadows/Spotlights (5:01)
  11. Both Sides (5:21)
  12. Have Your Way (5:14)
  13. Sounds Like Grace (5:31)

13 Tracks, 74:00

Buy on iTunes

More from River Valley Worship:

  • You Are // I Am (2011)
  • All In All (2012)
  • Sounds Like Victory (Deluxe Edition) (2014)
  • Edge Of Heaven (2016)
  • Million Lifetimes (2018)

Visit River Valley Worship’s Official Site Here