Written by: Kelly Meade (8/3/2017)

The Rock Music group put a modern, folksy spin on classic hymns performed by The Porter Family Band on the latest release, All Creatures.

The homespun collection starts off with “Amazing Grace” which has been given a mid-tempo acoustic arrangement setting the tone for the rest of the album with stringed instruments prevalent throughout. An Acapella breakdown of the chorus is a nice addition, though a few other vocal choices within the track are a little distracting.

The title track, “All Creatures Of Our God And King” brings to mind the words of Psalm 150:6 which says, “Let everything that has breath praise the Lord.”

One of my favorites on this record is the banjo-driven performance of “Leaning on the Everlasting Arms” reminds us of God’s never ending love.

The stripped down rendition of “Victory In Jesus” is another stand out celebrating Jesus’ triumph over the grave and the freedom we have in Him.

“’Tis So Sweet To Trust In Jesus” gets a unique twist with a musical arrangement unlike any I’ve heard for this particular song in the past. It is a refreshing take on the usual and makes it sound fresh.

“Blessed Assurance” neatly wraps up the EP with a declaration of a steadfast faith as we strive to live each day for our Savior.

While so many of us may be familiar with the hymns featured on All Creatures, the throwback, country-folk makeovers given to each of these is a welcome change of pace that transports you back to a simpler time with toe tapping rhythms and songs that never go out of style.

Rating here 3.5/5

Released: July 28, 2017

Label: Dream Worship

Track Listing:

  1. Amazing Grace (3:27)
  2. All Creatures of Our God and King (3:49)
  3. Leaning On The Everlasting Arms (2:54)
  4. Victory In Jesus (4:48)
  5. ‘Tis So Sweet To Trust In Jesus (5:01)
  6. Blessed Assurance (4:45)

6 Tracks, 24:44

Buy on iTunes

More from The Rock Music:

  • Promises (2009)
  • Rise EP (2013)
  • Gather EP (2013)
  • Sow EP (2013)
  • Rejoices: Christmas EP (2013)
  • Knowing Jesus: These Are Written (2014)
  • Old Soul Volume I + II (2015)
  • Dwelling EP (2015)
  • Knowing Jesus: So That You May Believe (2015)
  • Awakened By Hope (2016)
  • All Creatures EP (2017)

Visit The Rock Music’s Official Site Here