Written by: Kelly Meade (3/31/2017)

Selah has become known for putting their unique touches on classic hymns as well as offering inspiring original songs. The trio of Todd Smith, Allan Hall & Amy Perry bring signature harmonies & heartfelt music to their first album of new material in three years, Unbreakable.

The title track, “Unbreakable”, is an upbeat reminder of God’s constant, never-failing love for us. No matter what we do or where we go, we can never hide from or outrun the reach of His caring hand.

“I Got Saved” tells a story of redemption and forgiveness found in a relationship with Christ, praising the mercy of our Savior.

A personal favorite of mine is “Jesus Will Still Be There”. Allan Hall lends his vocals to the lead on this song reminding listeners that through the valleys of life, we are never alone. Even when it feels like everything is unraveling and we don’t see how things can get better, Jesus will be with us in the middle of it all carrying us through and giving hope to keep going.

The reflections of “Broken Ladders” point out the times when we try to overachieve or over-complicate things in our walk with God. Much more than anything we could do, God wants our hearts to be open to Him and allow Him to share life with us.

One of the special things about this album is the inclusion of several classic hymns including “He Lives/Because He Lives” & “This Little Light Of Mine (He Will Shine)” that have been given a rhythmic sound and captures the joy within the lyrics.

A beautiful rendition of “In The Sweet By and By” is arranged in a way that I’ve never heard before with a smooth vocal performance making it very pleasant to listen to.

“Leaning On The Everlasting Arms”, featuring Ron Block of Block & Taylor, ends the album on a high note with another nicely arranged piece that allows each vocalist to shine.

As a whole, Unbreakable, is a well-produced and spiritually enriching listening experience that speaks to the hearts of the audience with songs that convey the message of God’s love & faithfulness making it a welcome addition to your music collection.


Released: March 24, 2017

Label: Curb Records

Track Listing:

  1. Got Any Rivers / Carry You (4:23)
  2. Unbreakable (3:01)
  3. I Got Saved (3:39)
  4. Set Free (3:30)
  5. He Lives / Because He Lives           (3:55)
  6. Jesus Will Still Be There (3:42)
  7. This Little Light Of Mine (He Will Shine) (3:34)
  8. People Of The Cross (3:56)
  9. Lord, I Trust You (4:51)
  10. Broken Ladders (3:49)
  11. In The Sweet By and By (3:47)
  12. Swing Low, Sweet Chariot / I’ll Fly Away (4:09)
  13. Leaning On The Everlasting Arms (Feat. Ron Block) (3:54)

13 Tracks, 51:00

Buy on iTunes

More from Selah:

  • Be Still My Soul (1998)
  • Press On (2001)
  • Hiding Place (2004)
  • Greatest Hymns (2005)
  • Bless the Broken Road – The Duets Album (2006)
  • Timeless – The Selah Collection (2007)
  • You Deliver Me (2009)
  • Hope of the Broken World (2011)
  • You Amaze Us (2014)
  • Greatest Hymns Vol. 2 (2016)
  • Rose of Bethlehem – Deluxe Edition (2016)

Links for Selah:

Official Site