Written by: Celita Diaz-Perillo (Date written: 03/16/2023)

Today is the day that Shane & Shane release their new album – PSALMS, HYMNS, AND SPIRITUAL SONGS (LIVE). Shane & Shane is a praise and worship band formed of members Shane Everett and Shane Barnard. Since 2001 they have been actively and intentionally sharing their hearts, lives and talents to share Jesus and His Good News, and this album continues the mission.

The album title – PSALMS, HYMNS, AND SPIRITUAL SONGS (LIVE)– explains a lot of what the lyrics are about. Take the Biblical Psalms, add in the hymns of old, mix in some Spirituals, and you have got melodies/medleys intertwined in messages of truth, hope, encouragement, and love, creating an auditory balm for the soul.

Now, don’t get me wrong, Psalms, Hymns, and Spirituals ARE the foundation of every song, but these renditions are like that feeling we may experience when transitioning from a long Winter, to finally seeing the signs of Spring. Hope. It is about hoping and clinging to God’s promises, in spite of the challenges, struggles, weariness, and weight of this world. It is about keeping our eyes and lives focused on HIM, on JESUS! And surrending to His sovereinty.

Some of the songs that were especially meaningful to me are below. I sincerely hope that you check out the album, and that it blesses your heart as much as it blessed mine.

My first thoughts regarding the second song on the album, YOU’VE ALREADY WON, were, “Are you in the trenches? Listen and be encouraged!” I mean, check out these lyrics, “I’m fighting a battle You’ve already won”. Wow, right? I even drew a rough version of me just lifting my face to Jesus in praise! He is so faithful and good.

UNTO HIM (JUDE 24,25) is encouragement directly from scripture. My first impression was that it “Sounds like Moses’ hands being lifted in battle”. Which, due the season of life I and my family are in, made me feel like the Lord was asking ME to lift my hands in similar fashion. Hallelujah!

As I listened to TELL THE STORY (PSALM 8), I couldn’t do anything other than write, “How do I NOT praise His name- the name of Jesus- when I remember ALL He has done for me?” The lyrics “Amazing love, how can it be” are heard in this one. This song made me feel seen, vulnerable, with all the muck and goop of my life revealed, but I am so grateful for the love and redeeming power of Jesus.

MY PORTION is great for when you’re feeling like an overloaded table, with trembling legs from all the stress, strain, weight of life. Soak this song up! And unload it all to Jesus!

I listened to the PSALMS, HYMNS, AND SPIRITUAL SONGS (LIVE) in the presence of my teen daughter, and she was very content to listen and hum along even as she sat down to create some art.

My hope in sharing this perspective is that you will find a group or album or song that draws you to the feet of Jesus. It did that for me, and I am profoundly grateful for it, as we are wading through hard days like so many of you. Let’s “encourage ourselves daily” even as we listen to music!

Be blessed, dear soul. You are seen, known, wanted, and so very loved.
Seek Jesus. You WILL find Him.
He is Promise Keeper, and always faithful and good. His timing and ways are perfect.
Cling to Him in the storms, and He will get you through.

“…speaking to one another in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing and making melody in your heart to the Lord…” Ephesians 5:19


Released: March 17, 2023

Label: The Worship Initiative

Track Listing:

  1. All Creatures (Sing the Harmony) (feat. Davy Flowers) (3:59)
  2. You’ve Already Won (6:17)
  3. All Sufficient Merit (5:30)
  4. Unto Him (Jude 24-25) (4:33)
  5. Tell the Story (Psalm 8) (4:21)
  6. My Portion (5:52)
  7. Psalm 42 (Loudest Praise) (5:59)
  8. Psalm 8 (How Majestic Is Your Name) (4:57)
  9. Psalm 90 (Satisfy Us with Your Love) (5:22)
  10. Only There (5:05)

10 Tracks, 51:00

Buy on iTunes

More from Shane & Shane:

  • Psalms (2002)
  • Carry Away (2003)
  • Upstairs (2004)
  • Clean (2004)
  • Pages (2007)
  • Glory In The Highest (A Christmas Album) (2008)
  • Everything Is Different (2009)
  • Dare 2 Share – Unending Worship (2010)
  • The One You Need (2012)
  • Bring Your Nothing (2013)
  • The Worship Initiative Vol. 1 (2014)
  • The Worship Initiative Vol. 2 (2014)
  • The Worship Initiative Vol. 3 (2014)
  • The Worship Initiative Vol. 4 (2014)
  • The Worship Initiative Vol. 5 (2014)
  • The Worship Initiative Vol. 6 (2014)
  • The Worship Initiative Vol. 7 (2014)
  • The Worship Initiative Vol. 8 (2014)
  • The Worship Initiative Vol. 9 (2014)
  • The Worship Initiative Vol. 10 (2014)
  • A Worship Initiative Christmas (2014)
  • The Worship Initiative (2015)
  • Psalms, Vol. 2 (2015)
  • The Worship Initiative Vol. 11 (2016)
  • Psalms Live (2016)
  • The Worship Initiative Vol. 12 (2017)
  • The Worship Initiative Vol. 13 (2017)
  • The Worship Initiative Vol. 14 (2017)
  • The Worship Initiative Vol. 15 (2017)
  • The Worship Initiative Vol. 16 (2018)
  • Hymns Vol. 1 (2018)
  • A Worship Initiative Christmas Vol. 2 (2018)
  • Hymns Live (2019)
  • The Worship Initiative Vol. 17 (2019)
  • Hymns Vol. 2 (2020)
  • The Worship Initiative Vol. 18 (2020)
  • The Worship Initiative Vol. 19 (2020)
  • Hymns In The Round (2020)
  • The Worship Initiative Vol. 20 (2020)
  • The Worship Initiative Vol. 21 (2020)
  • Vintage (2020)
  • The Worship Initiative Vol. 22 (2020)
  • Psalms, Hymns & Spiritual Songs Vol. 1 (2021)
  • Worship In The Word (2022)

Visit Shane & Shane’s Official Site Here