Written by: Laura Chambers (April 20, 2022)

At our core, we all want to be loved, valued, and understood. We can’t imagine that someone already does; we believe we have to earn it somehow. Our other relationships certainly seem to be based on whether or not we do or say the right things. When we look in the mirror, we only see the ways we fail to measure up to the so-called standards.

What if we used a different measuring stick? What if we were able to give ourselves the same grace that Jesus does? How would it change the way we view ourselves and the world? Brandon Heath shares the answers to these questions in his latest album, Enough Already.

“Human Nature” encourages us to see ourselves the way Jesus does; instead of a burden to be borne, we are works in progress. There is a world of potential locked up within us, just waiting to be unleashed by our Savior. Heath assures us that our errors don’t disqualify us from being loved.

“Minute By Minute” surrenders the need to understand the past and the future, choosing instead to live in the moment. Faith enables us to take life one step at a time, leaning on Jesus instead of seizing control, which was never really ours in the first place. His presence and guidance is something we can be assured of.

“This Changes Everything” testifies to the transformation that occurs when we give our lives over to God. It’s like walking through a door, or waking from a distorted dream. Heath’s joy ripples throughout the song as he eagerly trades lies for truth and fear for freedom.

“That’s Enough” reminds us that everyone (even award-winning musician/lyricists) struggles with confusion about the future and regrets about the past. We can make peace with our circumstances as long as we’re sure of God’s character. As the chorus so succinctly puts it,

‘I am here
I am loved
God is good
And that’s enough’

That same promise applies to everyone. in every season of life.

“See Me Through It” is a faith-filled declaration that when our lives veer off course, God is right there in the thick of things, carrying us from one end of the valley to the other. We may not be able to avoid trouble, but if we surrender to God’s will, we’ll come out the other end better off for having faced it, with a story to tell of His goodness. Nobody is better equipped to fight our battles than He is.

In “Another Song About Love”, Heath imagines the listener initially dismissing his music as yet another track about the same tired subject. He explains that he felt the need to write this song in order to point people towards the truth and the true source of love, then pictures the listener’s cynical heart being touched by the lyrics, unable to stop thinking about the message. The chorus rolls forward over and over like waves of emotion cresting against the rocks, with repetition that illustrates the idea that yes, this is one more in a long list of love songs , yet it has something important to drive home.

In “He Is Not Worried” Heath hearkens back to childhood memories of waking up afraid in the middle of a storm, only to find that his father isn’t afraid. He draws courage from knowing that someone he trusts isn’t vexed. How much more can we trust our heavenly Father to carry us through our troubles?

“Enough Already” tackles the problem of insecurity head-on. We have a tendency to tell everyone else that we’re doing better than we are, while simultaneously telling ourselves that we’re worse than we are. The only opinion that matters is God’s, not our own warped view and certainly not others. He loves us as we are; we just need to believe it.

The album is capped off by an acoustic version of the first track, a final invitation to accept God’s offer of love.

When we recognize our intrinsic value to God can never be altered by anything we do or fail to do, it’s like a weight is lifted from our shoulders, freeing us from the need to live up to the unrealistic expectations of others. Enough Already slams the brakes on negative self-talk and despair, affirming our worth in the eyes of our Saviour and assuring us of His goodness.


Released: April 22, 2022

Label: Centricity Music

Track Listing:

  1. Human Nature (3:26)
  2. Minute By Minute (3:36)
  3. This Changes Everything (3:07)
  4. That’s Enough (3:36)
  5. See Me Through It (2:29)
  6. Another Song About Love (3:11)
  7. He is Not Worried (4:29)
  8. Enough Already (3:18)
  9. Human Nature (acoustic) (3:27)

9 Tracks, 31:00

Buy on iTunes

More from Brandon Heath

  • Don’t Get Comfortable (2006)
  • What If We (2008)
  • What If We Deluxe Edition (2009)
  • Leaving Eden (2011)
  • Give Me Your Eyes The Acoustic Sessions (2012)
  • Blue Mountain (2012)
  • Christmas Is Here (2013)
  • No Turning Back (2015)
  • Faith Hope Love Repeat (2017)

Visit Brandon Heath’s Official Site Here