Written by: Lori Lebel (11/17/2023)

Grammy-nominated singer and former lead vocalist of Flyleaf, Lacey Sturm, unveils her deeply personal sophomore solo album, Kenotic Metanoia. In this emotionally resonant album, Lacey delivers a captivating blend of hard rock grit and melodic introspection. Her powerful vocals, ranging from raw screams to heartfelt whispers, convey a spectrum of emotions, from vulnerability and despair to resilience and hope.

The album’s musicality seamlessly blends rock and roll energy with ambient elements, creating a rich and immersive sonic landscape. Sturm’s songwriting delves into themes of faith, identity, and the human experience, offering solace and inspiration to listeners. Songs like “The Decree” and “(I Died)” showcase her signature hard rock sound, while tracks like “Breathe With Me”, featuring Lindsey Sterling, and “End the Wars” reveal her softer side. Throughout the album, Sturm’s lyrics resonate with honesty and authenticity, inviting listeners to connect with their own inner struggles and find strength in shared experiences.

“Thief”, for example, explores the subject of the battle in our minds between God’s voice and the enemy’s tauntings. “State of Me” touches on the topic of healing, where “Not Your Fight” is a powerful and empowering anthem that speaks to the resilience of the human spirit and the unwavering belief that we can overcome any obstacle. One of the most interesting parts of the album are the bookends- “Intro” and “Outro”- also titled “My Heartbeat”, and were creatively used to a sense of intimacy and introspection, as she sings about the rhythm of her own heartbeat, a symbol of her connection to herself and to something greater.

“The Intro” is more soft and ambient, where “The Outro” has a more hopeful and triumphant tone, her vocals stronger and more confident, reflecting the growth and transformation that she has experienced throughout the album.

Kenotic Metanoia is more than just an album; it’s an invitation to a journey of self-discovery and spiritual growth. Whether seeking solace in faith or simply seeking great music, Sturm’s album will undoubtedly leave a lasting impression.


Released: November 17, 2023

Label: Independent

Track Listing:

  1. Intro (My Heartbeat) (2:18)
  2. State of Me (3:14)
  3. Are You Listening (4:08)
  4. The Decree (4:15)
  5. Terrible Mistake (5:45)
  6. Wonderful (4:43)
  7. A Man Needs A Maid (4:13)
  8. Thief (3:12)
  9. Not Your Fight (3:39)
  10. Awaken Love (4:27)
  11. Reconcile (3:56)
  12. (I Died) (3:57)
  13. Breathe With Me (Feat. Lindsey Stirling) (4:58)
  14. End the Wars (3:37)
  15. Outro (My Heartbeat) (1:12)

15 Tracks, 57:25

Buy on iTunes

More from Lacey Sturm:

  • Life Screams (2016)
  • Kenotic Metanoia (2023)

Visit Lacey’s Official Site Here