Written by: Kelly Meade (04/30/21)

Fans and industry folks alike have been waiting with great anticipation for the release MercyMe’s new album, inhale (exhale). With it the band serves up their brand of encouraging and uplifting tracks as well as some pleasantly surprising collaborations with artists from outside the Christian music genre.

Opening track “Inhale” acts as a prelude to closing track “Exhale” which bookend this collection nicely making for a unique listening experience as the songs flow. The words of “Inhale” and “Exhale” are a reminder to hold onto our Savior through every trial.

“On Our Way” featuring Sam Wesley, serves as a faith-empowering anthem to follow the dreams that God has placed in our hearts as we keep our hope firmly planted in Him.

“A Little Love”, featuring Gary LeVox of country music’s Rascal Flatts, tells of the power of love and how we can reflect the light of our Heavenly Father’s love into the lives of everyone we meet.

“Bright Side Of Broken” calls out the cliché responses that we tend to speak over people who are hurting while embracing the beautiful truth that when we are in our most broken state, Jesus is lovingly holding the pieces in His hands and forming them into something new.

“Uh Oh (Here I Go)” is a surprising track musically as it celebrates the freedom of being fully alive in Christ with a driving beat that breaks into a power ballad-like bridge. Definitely worth the listen!

“The Moment” tells the salvation story of a young man who fondly remembers the day he accepted Jesus as his Savior and the encouraing words he received from the pastor that linger on for years to come whenever questions and doubts arise.

“Say I Won’t” is probably my personal favorite track on the album. The words carry the reminder to live in every moment, never lose hope and to not let circumstances steal the real joy that we carry inside. Through all of the rejections and disappointments, keep going!

“Almost Home” has certainly become a massive success since its release as it centers on the ultimate hope of Heaven that we have as believers and that this world is not our final destination.

Four years after their smash hit album Lifer, inhale (exhale) does not disappoint long time MercyMe fans while also giving new listeners a dose of positive and heartfelt messages through music. This album truly features something for everyone with a variety of songs spanning many genre influences; all with a prime focus on giving glory to God and living the life He has given you to the fullest.


Released: April 30, 2021

Label: FairTrade Services

Track Listing:

  1. Inhale (1:02)
  2. Blessed (3:19)
  3. On Our Way (Feat. Sam Wesley) (3:27)
  4. So Yesterday (3:03)
  5. A Little Love (Feat. Gary Levox) (3:05)
  6. Whiplash (2:48)
  7. Bright Side of Broken (2:58)
  8. Let Yourself Be Loved (4:01)
  9. Hurry Up and Wait (3:00)
  10. Brand New (Feat. Gloria Gaynor) (3:51)
  11. Uh Oh (Here I Go) (3:14)
  12. The Moment (3:06)
  13. Then Christ Came (Demo) (0:56)
  14. Say I Won’t (4:06)
  15. Almost Home (4:06)
  16. Exhale (2:46)

16 Tracks, 48:42

Buy on iTunes

More from MercyMe:

  • Almost There (2001)
  • Spoken For (2002)
  • Undone (2005)
  • The Christmas Sessions (2005)
  • Coming Up To Breathe (2006)
  • All That Is Within Me (2007)
  • Coming Up To Breathe (Acoustic) (2008)
  • 10 (Deluxe Version) (2009)
  • The Generous Mr. Lovewell (2010)
  • The Hurt And The Healer (2012)
  • The Worship Sessions (2013)
  • Welcome To The New (2014)
  • MercyMe, It’s Christmas (2015)
  • Lifer (2017)
  • Inhale/Exhale (2021)

Visit Mercyme’s Official Site Here