Written by: Kelly Meade (9/14/18)

Nathan Sheridan’s life has been filled with more trials & heartbreak to overcome than many twice his age has endured. Through those circumstances, Nathan found the love of Christ and soon after accepting Him into his life, he also discovered a passion for music. Both of which turned his life around and remained with him while serving overseas in the military. With his debut album, Broken With You, Nathan shares the raw emotions he’s faced throughout his journey as well as the reason for clinging to hope and faith in God.

“Starts With You And Me” opens the album with an anthem that encourages us to overcome our differences & disagreements with each other and allow the reflection of our Savior’s love to flow through us in all we do.

“Don’t Get It” urges us to not let the opinions and negative comments drag us down. Especially when they’re said by people who don’t take the time to try to understand or get to know the real you and say/do hurtful things in the process.

“Minute By Minute” reminds listeners that even when we feel like we have irreversibly messed things up and gone so far down the wrong path in life that we can’t turn back, there’s still hope and we can get through the darkest of times if we take it minute by minute and make the smallest steps towards healing.

Title track and one of my favorites on this collection, “Broken With You” is an introspective ballad that takes a look inside the mind of someone who has hit their rock bottom. With a painful past that keeps pulling them back and a reluctancy to trust in anything again, there is still the knowledge that in that feeling of brokenness, God is near.

“Loves Like That” recognizes the feelings of inadequacy and unworthiness that we all experience at one time or another while offering hope in the fact that we don’t have to be perfect or have it all together in order for God to love us.

“His Name Is Jesus” acknowledges the redeeming power and grace within the Name of Jesus. In Him we have victory over the grave, an everlasting hope and healing as we trust His promises and faithfulness.

The poignant, autobiographical closing track “Again” tells of the close-knit relationships that have made a lasting impact on Nathan’s life as the words reminisce & reflect on memories and blessings.

For me personally, this album started off a little slow and I wasn’t sure how I was going to feel about the rest of it. However, by the middle of track three I was fully invested and pulled in to the stories and messages of hope & God’s saving grace. Broken With You offers some very beautiful songs that speak to your heart as you listen set to musical arrangements that contain elements of soul, pop, country & gospel genres.


Released: September 14, 2018

Label: Burtonwood Records

Track Listing:

  1. Starts With You and Me (2:58)
  2. Nothing But You (2:32)
  3. Don’t Get it (3:27)
  4. Who You’ll Always Be (3:38)
  5. Minute By Minute (3:41)
  6. Broken With You (4:12)
  7. Loves Like That (3:19)
  8. I’m Amazed (3:44)
  9. Alone In the Garden (3:57)
  10. His Name Is Jesus (3:45)
  11. Again (3:49)

11 Tracks, 39:00

Buy on iTunes

More from Nathan Sheridan:

  • Broken With You (2018)

Visit Nathan Sheridan’s Official Site Here