Written by: Kelly Meade (9/14/18)

Jason Gray has been recording and releasing some of the most honest and inspiring songs over the past decade that don’t shy away from getting real with the struggles that we face in this world. For his latest project, Jason enlisted the help of his son Kipper to perform, arrange & mix the music for some demos of a future release. With the realization that this father/son collaboration is something extra special, The Kipper Gray Sessions EP was born.

“Mountain” sets the tone for the EP comparing us as believers to stones that can either build a bridge or a wall, but together we can become a mighty mountain from which the message of God’s love & the Good News of Jesus can echo from the highest of heights to the depths of the seas. The lyrics also acknowledge that we’re stronger when we come together with a unified purpose that keeps God at the center of it all.

My favorite track, “Be Your Own Kind Of Beautiful” encourages us to embrace our unique design and identity in Christ, celebrating all that He created us to be. In a culture where conformity and “going with the crowd” can be the norm, we’re called to stand out and represent our Heavenly Father as we use the gifts & talents He’s given us to point people to Him.

“Love Life” paints a picture of finding the joy & little blessings in life and living it to the fullest. Striving to see the hope, love & joy (not always happiness, there’s a difference) as we travel this journey through the time we’ve been given.

“Becoming” finds someone who has been searching for their purpose and the person they’re meant to be realizing in the process that it’s important to never stop growing, learning and making progress forward; trusting in God every step of the way.

With only 5 songs, The Kipper Gray Sessions definitely leaves listeners wanting more. The unique arrangements that Kipper brings to the table as his father Jason sings are refreshing and every song is incredibly encouraging as they represent truly finding & living to be the best version of ourselves that our Heavenly Father made us to be as only the Master’s hands can do. God does not make mistakes and He longs for us to walk through life with Him. And Jason, if you happen to read this, can we get a Volume 2, please?


Released: September 14, 2018

Label: Centricity Music

Track Listing:

  1. Mountain (3:11)
  2. Be Your Own Kind Of Beautiful (2:39)
  3. Love Life (2:54)
  4. Time (2:54)
  5. Becoming (3:27)

5 Tracks, 15:00

Buy on iTunes

More from Jason Gray:

  • All the Lovely Losers (2010)
  • Everything Sad Is Coming Untrue (2010)
  • Acoustic Storytime (Live Songs and Stories) (2010)
  • Song Cycles: From Work Tapes To Remixes (2011)
  • A Way to See In the Dark (2011)
  • Christmas Stories: Repeat the Sounding Joy (2012)
  • Nothing Is Wasted EP (2013)
  • Love Will Have the Final Word (2014)
  • Post Script (2015)
  • Where the Light Gets In (2016)
  • Acoustic Sessions EP (2017)

Visit Jason Gray’s Official Site Here