Written by: Kelly Meade (08/14/22)

TobyMac is back with what is quite possibly his most highly anticipated release. Four years after his previous studio album, The Elements, the songs featured on Life After Death don’t shy away from tackling very real emotions that come from events of the past few years we’ve faced as humans living in this world as well as the personal journey that Toby & his family have been on after the loss of his oldest son. With an overall emphasis on hope, the truth throughout each track is sure to connect with listeners on a spiritual level.

The album opens with “Help Is On The Way (Maybe Midnight)”, an anthem that reminds us of God’s nearness in times of trouble. We can always call on Him and He will answer our prayers with what is truly best in His perfect time.

“The Goodness”, featuring Blessing Offor, celebrates the gift of God’s grace and every little way He can show up in seemingly ordinary days. The evidence of our Heavenly Father’s presence is all around us; we just need to keep our eyes open and see it.

“Show Up, Choose Love”, featuring Jon Reddick, speaks of breaking through the barriers dividing us as people by showing love to everyone we meet with our words and actions. Though we may not have all of the answers to solve every problem facing the world today, we can do the next right thing and reflect the light of Jesus living in us.

“Promised Land”, featuring Sheryl Crow, encourages listeners to press on knowing that our hope is not in the circumstances we face or the things that weigh so heavily on our hearts. Our hope is in the promises and faithfulness of our Savior who will never fail!

For the heartfelt “Everything About You”, Toby is joined by his daughter Marlee on a song they wrote together, along with Jon Reddick. In it Toby & Marlee walk through processing the loss of Toby’s son. This poignant track is evidence of the beautiful gift we’ve been given to have music be part of the journey towards healing during difficult seasons.

“Faithfully” depicts the honest truth of a loss that completely changes you as a person. The lyrics tell of being shaken to your core, but never completely giving up on the one constant – faith in Jesus and His unwavering closeness at all times. He is the One we can always depend on and the One that will always answer when we cry out to Him.

“Found” tells the story of salvation in two people’s lives and how the decision to accept Christ as their Savior profoundly affected the direction and outlook each have as a result. Featuring Terrian & Wande, the elements of rap combined with smooth vocals make this track stand out and one of the highlights on this album.

“Space” reunites the original members of dc Talk as Michael Tait & Kevin Max join Toby on this song that questions the distance & differences that have caused division. While both longtime & newer listeners will be glad to hear these voices together again, the message within the words is well-worth paying attention to as love can overcome any wrong.

“21 Years” is one of the most emotional songs on the album as Toby sings a message to his son Truett and ultimately thanking God for the time that Tru & Toby shared on earth. The lyric “God has you in heaven, but I have you in my heart” is one that so many of us who have lost loved ones can find comfort in as we keep their legacy alive through us.

“I’m Sorry (a lament)” is a prayer of repentance for hurtful things that have been done in the Name of the Lord as well as the ways we have fallen so desperately short of showing Jesus to those around us and the times we neglect to give every part of us to our Creator. Hearing the Beatitudes included on this track directs your heart back to the purpose God has given each of us – to love Him & to live a life that points others to Him.

“Rest” closes this collection featuring Terrian & Gabe Real as guest vocalists. The song calls on us to reflect on the peace & comfort we are assured of in a relationship with our Heavenly Father. We can rest in His promises that will not cease.

Without a doubt, Life After Death is a special album packed with honesty that celebrates the steadfastness of God and the condition of the human heart that’s been broken, but still beats with hope. TobyMac and the fantastic artists he has collaborating with him on this project do not disappoint. Lyrically, musically & vocally – the story told here is timely and will resonate with all who hear it.


Released: August 19, 2022

Label: ForeFront Records/Capitol Christian Music Group

Track Listing:

  1. Help Is On The Way (Maybe Midnight) (3:02)
  2. The Goodness (feat. Blessing Offor) (3:45)
  3. Deeper (feat. Tauren Wells) (3:15)
  4. Show Up Choose Love (feat. Jon Reddick)  (3:32)
  5. Promised Land (feat. Sheryl Crow) (3:31)
  6. Everything About You (feat. Marlee) (3:28)
  7. Life On It (feat. Sarah Reeves) (3:39)
  8. Faithfully (2:47)
  9. Cornerstone (feat. Zach Williams) (3:39)
  10. Found (feat. Terrian & Wande) (3:30)
  11. Fire’s Burnin’ (feat. Cory Asbury) (3:04)
  12. Space (feat. Kevin Max & Michael Tait)  (3:05)
  13. 21 Years (4:03)
  14. I’m Sorry (a lament) (4:24)
  15. Rest (feat. Terrian & Gabe Real) (2:19)

15 Tracks, 51:00

Buy on iTunes

More from TobyMac:

  • Momentum (2001)
  • Re:Mix Momentum (2003)
  • Welcome To Diverse City (2004)
  • Renovating Diverse City (2005)
  • Portable Sounds (With Bonus Remixes) (2007)
  • Alive and Transported (Bonus Track Version) (2008)
  • Tonight (2010)
  • Tonight Deluxe Edition (2010)
  • Christmas in Diverse City (2011)
  • Dubbed & Freq’d A Remix Project (2012)
  • Eye On It (2012)
  • Eye On It Deluxe Edition (2012)
  • Top 5 Hits EP (2013)
  • Eye’M All Mixed Up (Remixes) (2014)
  • This Is Not a Test (2015)
  • This Is Not a Test Deluxe Edition (2015)
  • Hits Deep Live (2016)
  • Light Of Christmas (2017)
  • The Elements (2018)
  • The St. Nemele Collab Sessions (2019)

Visit TobyMac’s Official Site Here