Written by: April Covington (8/21/2014)

“Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you. And behold, I am with you always to the end of the age.” Matthew 28:19, 20 Bluetree has taken the Great Commission, not only to heart, but to action. They are missionaries first, and musicians second. This is evident in their music on Worship & Justice. Their experience as missionaries in Thailand has greatly influenced their latest album that is releasing in stores on August 26th.

Their abilities as musicians are evident, but the focus is on worshiping God. The music does not detract from the message, but creates an environment of praise. I love how they immediately share the message of salvation on the first three songs of the album. The first thing a listener will hear is what Jesus has done for them. They follow Jesus’ love with praise of God’s character and His work in our lives. In the first song, “It is Finished,” Bluetree jumps into what Jesus did and what it means. Jesus’ death on the cross was the end of punishment for sins for those who believe in Him. Sin and death have been defeated. Jesus’ physical miracles while a man on earth, and his salvation power is shared in “My Redeemer Lives.”

In “Jesus, Healer,” Bluetree shares how Jesus’ body was broken on the cross, so that we would not pay for our sins. They state, “by your death, we live.” His body was broken, and now he heals our brokenness. A few of their songs remind me of the Psalms. God’s magnificence and amazing power are praised throughout the Psalms.

Bluetree closes Worship & Justice with “You Were, You Are,” in which they praise God for who He is. God is our Father and friend, but He is the creator of the universe. Nothing can stand against Him. He deserves all of our praise. “He answered, “I tell you, if these were silent, the very stones would cry out.” Luke 19:40 Bluetree mentions the rocks crying out in “You Were, You Are” and “Each Day.” God’s character demands praise. In “Magnify,” they list many attributes: unshakable, unchanging, faithful, liberty, grace, Savior. When you surrender your all to Christ, you will be changed. Once you experience Jesus, you cannot remain the same. Bluetree shares Jesus’ transformative power in our lives in “New Creation.” They say, “I’m laying it all down at the foot of the tree,” and, “I am a new creation, free and justified.” “Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.” Matthew 11:28 Bluetree shares the rest and freedom we have in Jesus in “Rest.” In “Each Day,” Bluetree uses imagery to show that God is always shining His love on us in the great times and the bad times. If we trust in Him, He will guide us through our storms, as Bluetree shares in “My Rock.” What I find unique about Bluetree is that their music is more like a Bible Study than musical expression. They are sharing God’s word with people through their music. The music is just a vessel for them to share God’s amazing love. I pray that God continues to use them to reach people all over the world.

Released: August 24, 2015

Label: Integrity Music

Track Listing:

  1. It Is Finished (4:34)
  2. My Redeemer Lives (4:32)
  3. Jesus, Healer (3:26)
  4. Each Day (4:34)
  5. Magnify (4:11)
  6. New Creation (5:10)
  7. God, You Are Good (4:46)
  8. Rest (4:01)
  9. My Rock (3:50)
  10. You Were, You Are (3:48)

10 Tracks, 42:52

More from Bluetree:

  • Greater Things (2007) (I)
  • God Of This City (2009)
  • Kingdom (2012)
  • Live: Mission Edition (2013)
  • Live In Oklahoma (2013)
  • Worship & Justice (2014)

Links for Bluetree:

Official Site