Written by: Kelly Meade (5/19/15)

Dan Bremnes sings from the heart on his full-length debut album, Where The Light Is, the follow up to the EP by the same name released earlier this Spring. In addition to 5 songs from that EP, we also hear 6 new tracks on this collection. To open the album, “Where The Light Is”, shares the story of someone whose faith has been tested and shaken through painful experiences. Yet, in the depth of their darkness, they cry out to God to bring them back, grasping to the hope He is able to carry them through. “Born Again” paints a picture of someone who has struggled with feeling the initial passion for God that they had when they first believed fade away. Reaching a point where they no longer want to settle for ‘lukewarm’ faith, they call upon God to renew their spirit and restore that desire to know Him more.

“He Knows” reassures us that God is aware of everything we are dealing with here on Earth – the good, bad and the ugly. We have no reason to be afraid to bring all of it to Him and let Him work through our broken pieces, making them fit into the Masterpiece He is creating with our lives. With “In His Hands” we hear the familiar chorus of “He’s Got the Whole World in His Hands” that many remember singing in Sunday school. The song expands on that to remind us that no matter where we go or what we go through, God is there. Dan makes it more personal as he sings about feeling God’s presence beside him through the pain of his mother’s death to the joy of his son’s birth.

“Faith Is” tells of how we sometimes get lost in the waiting process. It challenges us to take a step through the doubts & fear of the unknown into the life God has for us. We may not always have a clear view of the direction we should take, but we are to walk by faith, not by sight and trust that He is with us as we make choices and face the Goliath’s of life. On “I Am Sure”, the singer proclaims that through the doubts and situations that surface, God’s faithfulness remains the one constant, unchanging foundation. When everything else is uncertain, His love remains the anchor we cling to.The reflective worship song, “At Your Feet (Surrender)” brings the album to a close in a simple and beautiful way.

This album has become a personal favorite of mine. Each song has its own musical sound that seems to blend naturally with Dan’s honest vocals & lyrics. With its recurring themes of holding fast to your faith in the middle of despair and striving to follow God’s lead while struggling with doubts, Where The Light Is features songs we all can relate to in one way or another.

Released: June 9, 2015

Label: Sparrow Records

Track Listing:

  1. Where The Light Is (3:53)
  2. Beautiful (3:42)
  3. Heart On Fire (3:52)
  4. In His Hands (3:54)
  5. Born Again (3:05)
  6. He Knows (3:21)
  7. Wide Open (3:30)
  8. Faith Is (2:57)
  9. Over (3:24)
  10. I Am Sure (3:26)
  11. At Your Feet (Surrender) (3:51)

11 Tracks, 38:54

More from Dan Bremnes:

Where The Light Is EP (2015)

Where The Light Is (2015)

Links for Dan Bremnes:

Official Site