Written by: Lori Lebel (10/12/2016)

World reknown praise and worship team Hillsong from Sydney, Australia are releasing their 25th live worship album, Let There Be Light, on October 14th, 2016, under Hillsong Music, Sparrow Records and Capitol Christian Music Group.  The album brings together the worship team from all over the globe, including Marty Sampson, Joel Houston, Reuben Morgan, Brooke Ligertwood, Ben Fielding and many more.

The album’s theme is summed up by Rich Langton, pastor over the team in Australia, by saying, “The theme this year is ‘let there be light’.  Jesus is the light of the world and we carry that too.”  Ben Fielding adds, “So many songs reference that theme.  Jesus is not threatened by darkness, He has no rival.”

The heart of this album is prayer, and that the church must bear the light of the Gospel.  Songs “Behold” and “Love So Great” start the album on the slower side with a build to the center of each, leading the listener into His presence.  “Look to the Son” delivers a faster beat with U2-style guitars.  We slow back down with “Crowns”, “What a Beautiful Name”, and “Your Word”, which is probably the highlight of the album with it’s passionate, powerful lyrics about the strength in the Word. Title track, “Let There Be Light”, is reminiscent of a Delirious worship song with singing guitars three-quarters of the way through.  The album winds down with “In Control”, “Grace to Grace” and “Elohim”, with a cool blend of “Nothing But the Blood” in the track “I Will Boast In Christ”.  The final song, “As It Is”, takes the worshipers out on a mellow note, picking up slightly in the middle.

Overall, Let There Be Light is a bit of your typical worship album, slow, laced with passionate lyrics from the heart straight to the throne, and ideal for basking in His presence.


Released: 10/14/16

Label: Capitol CMG Label Group/Sparrow Records

Track Listing:

  1. Behold (then Sings My Soul) (6:46)
  2. Love So Great (5:19)
  3.  Look To The Son  (4:36)
  4. Crowns  (4:57)
  5. What A Beautiful Name  (5:41)
  6.  Your Word  (7:00)
  7.  Let There Be Light  (7:31)
  8. In Control  (5:07)
  9. Grace To Grace  (7:06)
  10.  Elohim  (4:29)
  11. I Will Boast In Christ  (4:52)
  12.  As It Is (in Heaven)  (8:39)

12 Tracks, 73:03

Buy on iTunes

More from Hillsong Worship:

  • It’s Christmas (2009)
  • A Beautiful Exchange (2010)
  • God Is Able (2011)
  • No Other Name (2014)
  • O Praise the Name EP (2015)
  • OPEN HEAVEN / River Wild (2015)

Links for Hillsong Worship:

Official Site