Written by: Kelly Meade (10/13/2016)

Tenth Avenue North returns with their fifth full-length studio album, Followers. This collection features ten well-written tracks that reflect the hope and love found in a relationship with our Savior which is something we can all use more of in this dark & trying world.

Opening track, “Afraid”, finds someone who makes the decision not to give in to fear and despair choosing instead to place their trust in God and His faithfulness.

“What You Want” tells of surrendering your own plans & agenda to fully chase after what God has for you. One line in particular, “so many leaders, You ask for followers, so keep on leading because You’re my Father”, reminds us that we’re not meant to conform or follow the leaders here on Earth, but to follow the One True God.

“I Have This Hope” shines a light in the midst of questions and confusion. When you wonder why certain things happen in life, it’s important to cling to hope and remember you aren’t alone, even when your faith is shaken.

A personal favorite, “Sparrow (Under Heaven’s Eyes)”, serves to remind us that nothing catches God by surprise and He always sees what we’re going through. He knows our past, present & future. We can rest in the promise that He will never leave us. A chorus from the classic hymn “His Eye Is On The Sparrow” is a nice addition to this track as well.

“Control (Somehow You Want Me)”, states a desire to give up control over your life, intentions & obsessions and hand the reins to God allowing Him to guide you to where you’re meant to be, away from the grip of the world.

“Fighting For You” is another track that jumped out at me as I listened. It helps us realize that Jesus is on our side. He is our Friend when no one else is around, our Confidant and He genuinely desires a relationship with us, so much so that He took our sin & shame to the cross and died for us. We can find hope in the fact that He has victory over the grave and has His best in store for each of our lives if we let Him in.

The poignant, “I Confess”, closes the album with the raw honesty of a weary soul who comes to terms with the fact that the Lord is the only source of true peace & joy; desiring to really get to know God on a personal level.

With a refreshing blend of melodies, solid vocal performance & meaningful lyrics found on Followers, Tenth Avenue North offers a timely and welcome message to listeners everywhere.




Track Listing:

  1. Afraid (3:48)
  2. What You Want (3:37)
  3. Overflow (3:41)
  4. I Have This Hope (3:25)
  5. One Thing (3:29)
  6. Sparrow (Under Heaven’s Eyes) (3:59)
  7. No One Can Steal Our Joy (3:41)
  8. Control (Somehow You Want Me) (4:09)
  9. Fighting For You (3:22)
  10. I Confess (5:15)

10 Tracks, 39:00

Buy on iTunes

More from Tenth Avenue North:

  • Over And Underneath (2008)
  • The Light Meets The Dark (2010)
  • Tenth Avenue North Live: Inside and In Between – EP (2011)
  • The Struggle (2012)
  • iTunes Session – EP (2012)
  • Cathedrals (2014)

Links for Tenth Avenue North:

Official Site