Written by: Laura Chambers (August 21, 2023)

There is no higher calling than bringing the truth of God to people whose bodies, hearts, minds, and souls are in need of His healing and salvation. We have been given many talents through which to proclaim the good news of the gospel. Kim Gentry Meyer uses her gifts of poetry, song, and painting (she created the artwork for the album booklet, too) to share God’s love with listeners in her debut album, Herald.

“This Isn’t Heaven” admonishes us not to believe the lie that this life is where we should be focusing our attentions. It’s too easy to fall into the trap of doing what makes us happy, instead of what is right and true. When this life is over, everything worldly we’ve worked for will be no more.

In “Mind of Christ”, Kim prays for Jesus to bring peace in the midst of a spiritual battle. Our feelings don’t determine the facts; what appears one way in our limited vision, in reality, has untold dimensions to it. The only way we can discern the truth is by having the mind of Christ in place of our own.

“You’ll Find Me There” was originally written as a poem, then set to music. In the track, Kim speaks from Jesus’ point of view, reminding us that when we love as He loved, and live as He lived, we’ll be able to find Him in our midst.

“Remain In You” expresses the joy and completeness we can experience in Christ. When we trust Him, we can cast off our fears and become who He calls us to be. All we need to do is abide in His presence.

“Spirit of God” invites the Holy Spirit to speak truth to our hearts, intercede in prayer for us, and fill our hearts to overflowing. Kim earnestly seeks an outpouring of truth and strength.

Sung with deep affection, “Perfect Love” is a testimony to God’s constant, faithful love. Emphasis is placed upon the fact that our redemption can be solely attributed to His grace, not our own actions. His love reaches down into the darkness and rescues us. Only in His love can we find freedom.

“We Surrender To Love” is a repentant, submissive prayer for the souls of the lost, while expressing a desire for the joy of our own salvation to be renewed. It is a recognition that acknowledging our own shortcomings and humbling ourselves before God must always precede anything we ask Him to do. Having experienced His love firsthand, we can believe His promises.

“Full Circle” rounds out the album (see what I did there?) with an exploration of the lessons you can learn from the various seasons in life. Through the surprising usage of quilts and baseball as metaphors for life and coming to terms with the highs and lows therein, Kim reminds us that as long as we have peace with God, we can leave this world at peace.

As messengers of God’s truth, it is our imperative to use whatever abilities He has bestowed upon us for His glory and the good of others. Kim Gentry Meyer does so with remarkable talent. With straightforward, delicate illustrations, much as an artist uses the strokes of a paintbrush to hint at the beauty of a flower, Herald skillfully and insightfully reminds us of God’s love and promises.


Released: August 25, 2023

Label: Nineties Music Night/Integrated Music Rights

Track Listing:

  1. This Isn’t Heaven (2:55)
  2. Mind of Christ (3:34)
  3. You’ll Find Me There (3:35)
  4. Remain In You (2:33)
  5. Spirit of God (2:39)
  6. Perfect Love (3:23)
  7. We Surrender To Love (5:15)
  8. Full Circle (2:53)

8 Tracks, 26:00

Buy onĀ iTunes

More from Kim Gentry Meyer:

  • Herald (2023)

Visit Kim Gentry Meyer’s Official Site Here