Written by: Celita Diaz-Perillo (Date written: 08/19/2023)

Mac Powell is a singer, songwriter, musician, and producer who has blessed the hearts of his listeners since the early 90’s when he formed and performed in the group Third Day. Even though Third Day disbanded in 2018, Mac Powell has continued on in his career as a solo artist since 2021, when he released His album New Creation. This June, Mac Powell released another album called Live From Red Rocks. It is a compilation of some of the songs from the past and some from the album released in 2021. It is chock full of praise and worship to Jesus, and the majority of them are ones that sure got me movin’ and dancin’ along!

SOUL ON FIRE is an amazingly upbeat way to start an album. It calls us to remember who we are in Christ and it reminds us of our need to keep pursuing Him in JOY, with Holy Spirit fire, and praise. These specific lyrics are a prayer worthy of being repeated over and over. “Lord, let me burn for you again. Let me return to you again.”

NEW CREATION expounds on all the Lord has done for us. He has “brought blessings out of tragedy”. And He has made me a “new creation”. Awesome!

GOD OF WONDERS is always a pleasure to listen to again, and this version has a special appearance by Andrew Ripp. I love it. Such a beautiful classic song from my youth.

The Acoustic Medleys of song number 5 are such a joy to listen to. They were born out of requests from the crowd Mac Powell played to at Red Rocks. The concert must have been so great. The audience was very interactive and enthusiastic.

RIVER OF LIFE is a call to come to the transforming love and power of Jesus- the River of Life!

Yes, I have heard these songs before, but they were all so beautiful and a complete pleasure to hear again on Live From Red Rocks. The songs presented were a mix of old and newer, uplifting, edifying, and joyful. Totally worth one’s time. Check it out, and be blessed!


Released: June 16, 2023

Label: Sparrow Records

Track Listing:

  1. Soul On Fire (3:54)
  2. New Creation (3:07)
  3. Flood Waters (5:37)
  4. God Of Wonders (feat. Andrew Ripp) (4:23)
  5. Request Time (Acoustic Medley) (6:55)
  6. Don’t Stop (2:52)
  7. River Of Live (3:11)

7 Tracks, 30:00

Buy on iTunes

More from Mac Powell:

  • Mac Powell (2012)
  • Southpaw (2014)
  • Mac Powell and the Family Reunion (2019)
  • New Creation (2021)

Visit Mac Powell’s Official Site Here