Written by: Abby Baracskai (5/8/2017)

As soon as I hear Matty Mullins, I think of Memphis May Fire and screaming vocals with smashing drums and slick guitars. When I press play for this album, I was surprised to hear a softer, more contemporary sound accompanied by a smooth voice. It’s definitely not what I expected to hear come from Matty Mullins, but I can say the experience is like a refreshing stroll in the park, and I like it.

The album starts out with a call to action in “Say it All.” The electronic pop beat synthesizes with a slight snap that sets the beat. The song is all about putting actions to match what you say you’re going to do, specifically showing love and grace to others. It’s an upbeat song that energizes you and makes you want to really make a change.

A little later, the radio single, “Unstoppable” featuring Jordan Feliz is listed. I still remember hearing this song on the radio for the first time and almost spitting out water when I heard it was Matty Mullins. My jaw stayed dropped open for a whole two minutes while my mind was trying to process what I was hearing. A poppy song with boy band sounding vocals that had me dancing in the car was a Matty Mullins song?! I couldn’t believe it. With that being said, I liked the music and message of the song. I think it’s important to recognize just how mighty God’s love for us is, and this song does just that.

The album wraps up with “Until I Need You,” a slower tune. Humming drums pair with strumming guitars to create a more grassroots sound that transports you back to simpler times. The song invites the Lord to make changes in your life to make it so you realize how you need Him in your life as your Savior; that you can’t do it without Him. It’s a simple but beautiful ending to a great album.

Overall, the album is not at all what I expected but it was refreshing, like a breath of fresh air or diving into cool water on a hot day. It helps refresh your soul and get back to the basics of what’s really important in this world, or what’s beyond this world. I would recommend giving it a listen and seeing what it does for you and your spiritual life. I doubt you’ll be disappointed.


Released: April 21, 2017

Label: BEC Recordings

Track Listing:

  1. Say it All (3:48)
  2. I Choose You (3:29)
  3. Unstoppable feat. Jordan Feliz (2:44)
  4. Go The Distance (3:20)
  5. Brand New Fire (3:19)
  6. Christ be Magnified (3:25)
  7. The Great Unknown (3:21)
  8. The Best is Yet to Come (2:45)
  9. You Can (3:05)
  10. Until I Need You (4:18)

10 tracks, 32:14

Buy on iTunes

More from Matty Mullins:

  • Matty Mullins (2014)

Links for Matty Mullins:

Official Site