Written by: Kelly Meade (02/09/23)

With the release of Skillet’s Dominion: Day Of Destiny (Deluxe Edition), I’m adding onto my review of the Dominion album with my thoughts on the five brand new tracks included at the bottom. Highly encourage you to check this new collection out!

Skillet is back with their highly anticipated album, Dominion, available everywhere now! This release is sure to please both long time and newer fans of the band with its hard-hitting heavy rock and soaring vocal performances while the lyrics speak of overcoming the evils of this world, standing strong in your faith and keeping hope alive through the most difficult times.

“Surviving The Game” sets the tone for the album with an anthem about being able to remain steadfast in the face of whatever life throws at you; rising above with the promise found in Romans 8:37 that we are more than conquerors through Him who loved us.

Title track “Dominion” is a force to be reckoned with as it boldly proclaims a rebellion against the enemy’s attacks and calling to mind that we serve an everlasting King who will defeat the darkness threatening to overtake His people.

The following song, “Valley Of Death”, is a powerful, piano driven ballad that finds someone who is dealing with the kind of grief and sorrow that cuts to the core and tests the limits of your faith. Clinging to the belief that our Savior will not leave us alone no matter what we must walk through, while it’s still a struggle, somewhere there will always be a glimmer of hope to guide you.

“Refuge” is a personal favorite for sure. I love the way the lyrics remind us that our Heavenly Father is always there and a safe place to rest. We can be fully honest with God about everything we are experiencing & trust that He will carry us.

“Ignite” will definitely spur on listeners to shine with the light of Jesus while holding tight to what they believe and not conform to the pressures of the world around them.

The first of the new tracks on the deluxe album, “Crossfire”, is my favorite of the additions. Its message gives hope to those who have hit rock bottom and are feeling completely lost. You’re never truly alone in the midst of the battles against the darkness – hold on because you will make it through.

“Psycho In My Head” gives me “Monster” vibes as this one is in the same vein of trying to tame the voices and everything that attempts to drag you into the depths of despair. The lyrics ‘help me believe I need to see the light in me’ stand out recognizing that there is still something good inside to fight for.

A re-recording of a song from the Victorious album, the version of “Finish Line” featured here is a heavier mix with guest vocals by Adam Gontier of the band Saint Asonia, formerly of Three Days Grace, adding an extra layer of rock to the track.

“Unbreakable Soul” vows to never cave to the downward trends of society and brings to mind the words of Romans 12:2 refusing to give in to the “norm” while remaining strong in your beliefs.

Similarly, “The Defiant” encourages us to stand firm in our faith against everything that tries to strip it away. With God on our side, we can be bold and brave in the face of it all.

The songs added to Dominion: Day Of Destiny certainly compliment the original release bringing even more empowering anthems to listeners.

As a whole, Dominion is a timely album jam-packed with music that plays as a soundtrack to life as we navigate the current state of the world. Longtime fans will be pleased to hear some “old school” Skillet styles combined with the fresh sounds on this record . There’s no doubt that the message of standing defiant against many of the cultural norms that are becoming increasingly challenging resonates on a deep level all while keeping a firm focus on the loving power of God.


Released: February 17, 2023

Label: Atlantic Records

Track Listing:

  1. Surviving The Game (3:59)
  2. Standing In The Storm (4:17)
  3. Dominion (3:51)
  4. Valley of Death (4:27)
  5. Beyond Incredible (3:31)
  6. Destiny (4:02)
  7. Refuge (3:28)
  8. Shout Your Freedom (3:26)
  9. Destroyer (3:43)
  10. Forever or The End (3:32)
  11. Ignite (3:42)
  12. White Horse (3:36)
  13. Crossfire (3:17)
  14. Psycho In My Head (3:17)
  15. Finish Line (feat. Adam Gontier) (3:27)
  16. Unbreakable Soul (3:21)
  17. The Defiant (3:21)

17 Tracks, 62:00

Buy onĀ iTunes

More from Skillet:

Visit Skillet’s Official Site Here