Written by: Kelly Meade (7/13/2016)

South Carolina natives NEEDTOBREATHE have established themselves as a highly sought after band with several high profile television appearances & having toured with some of the biggest names in music. Their unpolished, homespun sound influenced by rock, country & Americana comes together with lyrics that reach listeners of multiple genres. The release of H A R D L O V E continues on that path featuring songs that refuse to be confined to one specific musical box.

Title track, “Hard Love”, encourages listeners not to give up when challenges arise, noting that anything worth having is worth working on & fighting for. Knowing that we are not called to be comfortable, but to be willing to stand strong in faith through whatever comes our way with the promise that we are not alone.

“Money & Fame” speaks of the pitfalls that achieving material wealth & notoriety brings, warning that neither provide true joy & peace and it’s impossible to experience the highest of highs without the lowest of lows.

Lead single, “Happiness”, follows the story of someone who has been striving to make changes to their life for the better, refusing to let setbacks detour them. Realizing that sometimes painful experiences are necessary to move on, it is important to keep hope alive that the people & places meant to be in your life will be there when all is said and done.

“Clear” closes the album with a song that paints a picture of what a loving relationship can look like.

Throughout H A R D L O V E, the band’s talent is evident as they display their unique instrumentation and vocal performances. Aside from the questionable content found in “Great Night (feat. Shovels & Rope)” which may cause some listeners to press “skip”, NEEDTOBREATHE delivers a solid album appealing to a wide audience while still providing hope & encouragement to those who hear.


Released: July 15, 2016

Label: Atlantic Records

Track Listing:

  1. Mountain Pt. 1 (0:56)
  2. Hard Love (3:35)
  3. Money & Fame (3:12)
  4. No Excuses (2:45)
  5. When I Sing (2:43)
  6. Happiness (3:26)
  7. Great Night (Feat. Shovels & Rope) (2:56)
  8. Be Here Long (3:35)
  9. Don’t Bring That Trouble (2:57)
  10. Let’s Stay Home Tonight (3:20)
  11. Testify (4:04)
  12. Clear (6:51)

12 Tracks, 40:20

Buy on iTunes



Official Site