Written by: Kelly Meade (08/29/2020)

NeedToBreathe return with their seventh studio album, Out of Body. With it, listeners are treated to the band’s signature sound of genre blending musical arrangements, honest lyrics and Bear Rinehart’s unmistakable vocals.

“Mercy’s Shore” opens the album with an encouraging anthem to keep going, knowing that the ultimate destination is beyond what this world has to offer. Through the ups and downs and all the times life tries to knock you down, we can place our trust in our Savior who is able to carry and guide us as we live and learn.

“Alive” celebrates living every moment to the fullest and chasing the dreams that God has placed in your heart.

“Survival”, featuring Drew & Ellie Holcomb, tells of how our lives can get off track – sometimes dangerously. But, no matter what happens or where we try to hide, we can’t escape the love or reach of God. The lyrics also acknowledge that He is vital for our survival in life.

“Child Again” finds someone who is longing for the simplicity of childlike faith that embraces the ability to trust and believe in our Heavenly Father without the distractions of life that can crowd our minds.

Title track, “Out of Body”, begs to be taken out of the pattern of being so caught up in ourselves and given a new, clearer perspective to see what needs to be changed and how to live a life that isn’t so self-focused.

“Who Am I” centers on the love God has for us and that it can be hard to comprehend how He looks beyond our mistakes and messes to love us for exactly who we are. The lyric “You grow Your roses on my barren soul” stands out to me as a reminder of how God can use what seems to be our most useless parts for something beautiful.

Closing track, “Seasons” depicts a steadfast commitment to staying in a relationship knowing that difficult times are going to happen and it won’t always be an easy road to travel, but it will be worth it to face those moments together.

From start to finish, Out of Body is a solid project that carries overall encouraging and relatable messages for life, love and faith. One of my favorite things about what NeedToBreathe comes out with is that it spans so many styles and maintains a unique feel in a sea of music that can be all too similar. This album is definitely a must listen!

Rating: 4.5/5

Released: August 28, 2020

Label: Elektra Records LLC

Track Listing:

  1. Mercy’s Shore (4:50)
  2. Alive (3:08)
  3. Hang On (4:15)
  4. Survival (feat. Drew & Ellie Holcomb) (4:27)
  5. Child Again (3:49)
  6. Out of Body (3:30)
  7. Who Am I (3:27)
  8. Banks (4:00)
  9. Riding High (4:06)
  10. Bottom of a Heartbreak (4:32)
  11. Seasons (4:03)

11 Tracks, 44:00

Buy on iTunes


Visit NEEDTOBREATHE’s Official Site Here