Casting Crowns ‘It’s Finally Christmas EP’

///Casting Crowns ‘It’s Finally Christmas EP’

Casting Crowns ‘It’s Finally Christmas EP’

Written by: Laura Chambers (November 28, 2017)

Fear not, all ye fans of Casting Crowns! Six new tracks ye are granted this day, should ye be longing for a follow-up to Peace On Earth, released nigh on nine years ago! (Because nothing says Christmas like sprinkling KJV language into your conversation…)  It’s Finally Christmas makes its debut this season. As always, Casting Crowns continues to point us to Christ first and foremost, always finding creative ways to do so. (And kudos for releasing it before Halloween!)

The first single from this EP, “Gloria/Angels We Have Heard on High” twinkles and sparkles with the message that this tale of a night long ago in Bethlehem is no mere story. Rather, it has the power to change lives and release us from our shackles.  “It’s Finally Christmas” lists some of the family traditions people associate with the season being in full swing: the sights, sounds, and smells of Christmas, and the feeling of joy and peace they evoke, something we’ve been longing for all year round. Just when you think something’s missing, the song doesn’t disappoint, reminding us that what underlies all of these is the reason we celebrate; Jesus leaving his glory behind and coming for our sakes.  “What Child Is This (Christ the King)” slightly re-does the chorus, but in a pleasant way that keeps the wonder of the original.

“Somewhere In Your Silent Night” speaks to those who feel too lost to save, a condition magnified by all of the Christmas surroundings that remind them of their state. The song reassures them that God hears their prayers and sees their tears, and He will rescue those who call out to Him.  “O Holy Night” is beautifully sung and orchestrated, with powerful vocals that will stir the hearts of listeners.  Finally, featuring Matt Maher, who also co-wrote the song, “Make Room” focuses on the fact that Jesus came into the world to save us from oppression and despair, yet found no room at the inn. The song asks whether we have a place set aside for Him in our hearts so that He can work in our lives, whether we’re willing to exchange what we want to glorify Him.

It’s Finally Christmas, despite its title, will have you wishing the holiday season could slow down just a little so you wouldn’t have to set it aside until next year so soon. Casting Crowns continues to be a source of both inspiration and introspection, things badly needed by the world when it’s so easy to forget the true meaning of Christmas.


Released: October 20, 2017

Label: Provident Label Group LLC

Track Listing:

  1. Gloria / Angels We Have Heard On High (4:31)
  2. It’s Finally Christmas (3:26)
  3. What Child Is This (Christ the King) (4:11)
  4. Somewhere in Your Silent Night (3:56)
  5. O Holy Night (4:56)
  6. Make Room (feat. Matt Maher) (4:25)

6 Tracks, 26:00

Buy on iTunes

More from Casting Crowns:

  • Casting Crowns (2003)
  • Just Be Held: Casting Crowns Favorites (2003)
  • Live from Atlanta – EP (2004)
  • Lifesong (2005)
  • Lifesong Live (2006)
  • The Altar and the Door (Bonus Track Version) (2007)
  • Peace on Earth (2008)
  • Until the Whole World Hears (2009)
  • Until the Whole World Hears (Live) (2010)
  • Come to the Well (2011)
  • The Acoustic Sessions, Vol. 1 (2013)
  • Thrive (2014)
  • Glorious Day: Hymns of Faith (2015)
  • A Live Worship Experience (Live) (2015)
  • The Very Next Thing (2015)

Visit Casting Crown’s Official Site Here

By |2018-01-03T21:54:45-04:00November 29th, 2017|Music, Reviews|0 Comments

About the Author:

Leave A Comment