Marc Martel ‘The First Noel EP’

///Marc Martel ‘The First Noel EP’

Marc Martel ‘The First Noel EP’

Written by: Laura Chambers (November 22, 2017)

Marc Martel releases The First Noel EP, a follow-up to last year’s The Silent Night EP. The album consists of six songs chosen from the traditional and the more modern favorites.

Martel’s version of “Ave Maria” has a bit of a tropical flavor to it, opting for a guitar rather than violins as accompaniment. He does a nice job, managing to give the song feeling with his unique vocals.

Featuring guest vocals by Plumb, “It’s Beginning To Look A Lot Like Christmas” incorporates sleigh bells, banjo and whistling to create a cheerful Christmasy atmosphere.

“Mary, Did You Know” changes the atmosphere from celebration to a quiet lullaby, almost as if he and Buddy Greene are rocking Mary to sleep.

“The Christmas Song” feels like one of those moments in a TV show where one of the characters notices a piano in their friend’s living room at a Christmas party and asks if they can play a song.

Soaring stellar vocals make “The First Noel” a memorable track aside from its lending the EP its title.

“The Hallelujah Chorus” really showcases Martel’s vocal range, as he climbs up and down the scale in praise to God.

The First Noel has a lot to like about it. I’m only sorry that there weren’t any original songs included. Nevertheless, Martel’s takes on each song are decent additions to any holiday playlist.


Released: November 24, 2017

Label: Marc Martel Music

Track Listing:

  1. Ave Maria (4:11)
  2. It’s Beginning To Look A Lot Like Christmas (feat. Plumb) (2:39)
  3. Mary, Did You Know (feat. Buddy Greene) (3:21)
  4. The Christmas Song (feat. Scott Mulvahill) (3:47)
  5. The First Noel (4:16)
  6. The Hallelujah Chorus from Handel’s Messiah (3:59)

6 Tracks, 23:00

Buy on iTunes

More from Marc Martel:

  • The Prelude EP (2013)
  • Impersonator (2016)
  • Live at the High Watt (2016)
  • The Silent Night (2016)

Visit Marc Martel’s Official Site Here

By | 2018-01-03T21:56:44+00:00 November 24th, 2017|Music, Reviews|0 Comments

About the Author:

Leave A Comment