Written by: Kelly Meade (09/14/23)

NeedToBreathe have long been a band capable of crossing genres and appealing to a wide audience with their unique style of music featuring elements of rock, country, gospel and more. With each album comes lyrics that encourage, tell stories and explore faith combined with music that captivates listeners and unmistakable vocals. The latest release, Caves, brings 11 new tracks that are sure to make in impact.

“The Cave” opens the album with a song that finds someone who has fought through a dark time and come out stronger on the other side ready to face whatever may happen next.

“Dreams (featuring Judah & The Lion)” tells the story of pursuing your dreams through all of the highs and lows that come with it while acknowledging that ultimately we aren’t the ones in control and all the failures and hardships along the way turn into lessons that equip us for our calling.

“When You Forgive Someone” reminds us that the longer we hold on to the wrongs that have been done against us, the more it steals away our joy and weighs down our souls. Forgiveness and truly letting the burden of bitterness go is imperative to moving forward in life.

The tracks “Fall On Me (featuring Carly Pearce)” & “Hideaway” celebrate cultivating a healthy, loving relationship that is supportive of each other and encourages one another to be honest and real without fear of being abandoned in a time of need.

“Reaching Out To Find You” is a song of reconciliation, recognizing the first step is forgiveness; setting aside petty differences as you seek to understand each other and begin a path towards healing.

Closing song “Temporary Tears (feat. Foy Vance)” plays as a prayer for hurt & pain to ease in a world that is full of fear to the point that all hope seems lost. As the chorus begs, “Joy come roll away these temporary tears”, we can remember and hold on to the truth of where our joy, peace & hope is found in Christ and believe that He will remain close through anything and everything that rises against us.

Overall, the messages throughout Caves are ones that listeners can take to heart. Every track draws you in with intriguing twists and turns musically as each instrument within the melodies compliment the lyrics. What I love about NeedToBreathe as a band is that their music can be listened to from a Christian perspective and many songs applied to our faith journey and life in general as well as enjoyed by mainstream audiences everywhere without being labeled or forced to fit in any one genre’s format. The craftsmanship within the songwriting proves that you don’t have to fall into stereotypes or include unnecessary content to create something awesome.

Rating: 4.3/5

Released: September 15, 2023

Label: Drive All Night Records

Track Listing:

  1. The Cave (3:36)
  2. Everknown (4:24)
  3. How Wonderful We Are (3:57)
  4. Dreams (feat. Judah & The Lion) (4:10)
  5. When You Forgive Someone (3:54)
  6. Wasting Time (feat. Old Dominion) (4:05)
  7. Fall On Me (feat. Carly Pearce) (4:24)
  8. Hideaway (4:13)
  9. By and By (3:48)
  10. Reaching Out To Find You (3:24)
  11. Temporary Tears (feat. Foy Vance) (3:56)

11 Tracks, 44:00

Buy onĀ iTunes

More from NeedToBreathe:

Visit NeedToBreathe’s Official Site Here